The new adventure continues

As you can tell I am already a little behind on my postings for my 90 days with David and Beth. I have been doing the study I am just a tad behind on posting. I don’t want to write/post more than one a day because I think it would be a little much. Hope you enjoy this one it is a little different than the first one.

Day 2: David: 90 Day with a heart like his by Beth Moore

Stop and Consider: 1 Samuel 16:8-13

8 Then Jesse called Abinadab and had him pass in front of Samuel. But Samuel said, “The LORD has not chosen this one either.” 9 Jesse then had Shammah pass by, but Samuel said, “Nor has the LORD chosen this one.” 10 Jesse had seven of his sons pass before Samuel, but Samuel said to him, “The LORD has not chosen these.” 11 So he asked Jesse, “Are these all the sons you have?”

“There is still the youngest,” Jesse answered, “but he is tending the sheep.”

Samuel said, “Send for him; we will not sit down a]”>[a] until he arrives.”

12 So he sent and had him brought in. He was ruddy, with a fine appearance and handsome features. Then the LORD said, “Rise and anoint him; he is the one.”

13 So Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the presence of his brothers, and from that day on the Spirit of the LORD came upon David in power. Samuel then went to Ramah. (1 Samuel 16:8-13, NIV)

This is the verse that is the main focus of Day 2 is verse thirteen which says, “So Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the presence of his brothers, and from that day on the Spirit of the LORD came upon David in power. Samuel then went to Ramah (1 Samuel 16:13, NIV).

This may be just be the older sibling in me coming out but when I first read that David was anointed in front of his older brothers I thought, “I wonder what his brothers were thinking? I mean this was their “baby” brother. They may have thought, “What is God doing? Why doesn’t he pick one of us older possibly wiser brothers? “There is no way he is ready for this… But then I think maybe that is one reason why God chose David over his older brothers because he was the youngest. When we are younger we tend to be more moldable/teachable, just maybe God knew David would be the most teachable of his seven brothers.

Then I think about David the quieter one of the bunch. Being a person that often likes to be alone to think and just enjoy my surroundings, I wonder what David was thinking. Often quiet do not like being thrust into the spotlight and David was definitely thrust into the spotlight. So I was wonder was he afraid or confused? Or did the Spirit of the Lord coming upon him calm him…I guess we will never know this side of Heaven. It is fun though I think to look at the characters in the Bible like David and his brothers as the real people they are/were. Too often I forget these are real people who had thoughts, and emotions. They are not just characters in a story.

From now on this is what my posts of this journey will be like. I will no longer post what Beth Moore says. Oh sure I will through in a tidbit here and there but if you want to read Beth’s questions and thoughts go buy the study. I already know it is well worth it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope it blesses you or makes you think. Maybe it will even make you want to go out and get the study to do yourself.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

