To do lists

Life can be crazy at times, so I make lists. Some are in my head, for example, each morning I go through a mental list of tasks I need to do before I go to work.

While I am at work however, I have notes that remind me of specific tasks I need to do that day.

As I was starting my day today, a thought crossed my mind, “I need to remember to do my devotional for today”. But then I thought, “I don’t want the time I spend with God to be an item I check off of any of my lists

Why is this so important to me? The reason is I have a relationship with the God I love and serve. A relationship means I spend time with God not out of obligation, but out of desire to grow in my relationship.

Dear God, help me not to reduce my relationship with you to an item on my to do list.

In Jesus name, amen

Leave a Reply

