Too Big For Me…But Not Too Big For We…God and Me

This blog post is going to be a little bit different from my previous weekly blog posts.  It’s not that I don’t want to do a legacy of faith post, I do.  The issue I am having is limiting it to one person, which is a blessing in itself.  God has blessed me with some amazing women of faith throughout my life, so I think I will write blogs about these women whenever God leads me to write about each of these lovely ladies.
Now on to something God laid on my heart about five years ago.  Five years ago or so, I moved back home as a result of some unfortunate events.  However, it was during this time of uncertainty about the future that I really started to dream about what I was called to do for the rest of my life….  That’s when God started to remind me of something I have loved to do since I was a little girl, to write. 
The idea of becoming a writer began to take shape in my head and heart; I started to believe it was possible.  Maybe even that God could use this gift He had given to show others that anything is possible with God (Luke 1:37).  It may even take care of a concern that had been on my mind since I was old enough to work, how would I get to and from work since I am unable drive? Becoming a writer could take care of that issue.  How would it do that, you may ask? I envisioned having a laptop and being able to write wherever God had placed at the time.  If that were that were the case, then I would not have to get to and from work, because I could take with me. 
Almost inevitably, when I let myself dream the God-sized dream of becoming a writer the doubts kept into my mind.  Like, “You’re just an ordinary girl from a small town no one would want to read or buy anything you wrote”.  “Even if someone did, you couldn’t travel and do the things a writer needs to do after being published”.
Despite all of this, I began putting a collection of poetry into a manuscript of sorts. To this day however, it remains unfinished.  It just seemed so impossible to me. Somewhere along the way I forgot that God gave me this dream and with Him anything is possible (Luke 1:37)
So, here I am in the stressed less living bible study and God is consistently reminding me to follow His calling on my life.  What steps can I take towards this dream? One step I have already been taking recently is sharing more of my story in public.  You see, speaking in public raises my anxiety level quite a bit. God has been working with me on that though by giving me more opportunities to practice.  As for becoming a writer, a small step I can take is to start to work on my manuscript again. 
I pray that we all remember that if God gives us a dream that seems impossible, nothing is impossible with God. I pray that if any of us forgets, one of us will be there to encourage and remind each other.
Until we meet again J

 

2 thoughts on “Too Big For Me…But Not Too Big For We…God and Me

  1. Tristine Barry says:

    Sarah, what a wonderful and inspiring post! I look forward to seeing this unfold for you. It is nice to see a post on following our dreams with, and only with, God. Keep shining your hope through girl. You are such an inspiration to me and others. Keep up the great work. I pray for blessings and favor for you as you embark on this journey.

    Love in Christ,

    Tristine

  2. livng4him81 says:

    Thank you so much Tristine. Isn't it awesome that God uses us ordinary women to encourage each other? I am so thankful that God can use an imperfect person like me to encourage and inspire others. God is so amazing! Thank you so much for your encouragement🙂 Thia is one of the things I love most about our small group is that we are on this journey of change together.

    Blessings,

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

