Palms Up Everybody

For those of you who read my blog that are my friends on Facebook, you may have noticed I have started using hash tags and posting what I call word pictures. All of this may have you wondering why has Sarah started doing that? Well I’m really excited to share with you why!! The reason is this week I began a new journey through Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study.  The title of this new journey is  what happens when women say yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst.

This week Lysa posed a question, what is holding you back from going deeper in my relationship with God? Can I just be honest here and tell you that God brought to mind things I didn’t even realize.   I mean there is one on my list that I think is universal for anyone who wants a deeper relationship with anyone, and God is no exception.  What is the item that is causing a lack of depth in our relationships? Time. Do we ever really have enough? I know for me, I am often doing several different tasks at once.  For example, this weekend I am at a conference and on the way here I was on Facebook while texting back and forth with a good friend.  So how can I expect to have a deep relationship with God if I don’t devote time to that relationship? The answer is I can’t and won’t.

If you’re like me, you may be thinking something like, “yeah, Sarah I hear ya, but I do not have any more time to give. My calendar is full.  I know so is mine. But if I’m honest, I put my time into the people and places that mean the most to me.  That is one of the reasons I am really putting effort into this Bible study because I want to make my personal relationship with God, a real priority.   For my readers, I would challenge you as well to take at look at where you are investing your time.  Are you like me, and putting it in many “good” things, but not in lasting, eternal things like your relationship with God (Matthew 6:21, NIV).

The awesome news is that we can all start today, by opening our palms and giving our time back to God.  We can begin today spending time with Him daily.  It doesn’t have to be a lot of time, just start with whatever amount you can, and go from there.  That’s one of the things God and I are still working on, but each day it comes more naturally to me.  As I choose each day to live each day with my #PalmsUp, God draws me closer to Himself.

This is my prayer for all of us, that God would draw each of us closer to Himself so that we are able to live the lives He creates for us.

Leave a Reply

