Outside my comfort zone, say what God?

Has God ever surprised you by asking you to do something you never thought He would? He has done that to me multiple times. God knows me better than anyone, right? So He knows my strengths and weaknesses better than I do myself?   Surely He wouldn’t call me to do something outside my comfort zone, right? Wrong!!

There is one example that has kept playing over and over as I thought about the moments where I have gone, “hold on God, say what now? It was a Monday night if I remember right, and my cell phone rang.  I know that’s not unusual, hold on I’m getting there… I pick up my phone, it’s my friend Dana. This is not unusual either, we both serve on the Open Youth Ministry Team at my home church, it’s what comes next that made me say, “say what, God”? She was calling because she was supposed to speak to speak to a group of young women from our community two days later, but she had to go out of town.  She had prayed about who to ask to speak in her place, and guess who she felt God telling her to ask? That’s right ladies and gentlemen, it was me.

For some people, speaking in front of a group is nothing.  I’ll let you in on a little secret, I am not one of those people.  However, what Dana did not know was that God had already been speaking to me about sharing more of my story with others.  So although I was hesitant to agree, I did.  Almost instantly, in my mind, I started questioning whether I had heard God correctly. God, I am just me, I don’t have an impressive story, are you sure you want me to do this? No matter how many times I asked the answer was the same, yes. As I prepared to share parts of my story with these young women something surprising happened.  Instead of making me feel nervous and scared, I began to be filled with other emotions like energetic excitement.

Does this mean I was not anxious as sat and waited for my turn to speak? No. It does not.  Speaking in public is still not in my comfort zone.  However, I was reminded that when God calls me to do something, He will enable me to do it, and will get the glory for it.

That is my prayer for this week, that as we are learning to live with our #PalmsUp that we would say #YesToGod even if what He’s asking is outside our personal comfort zones.

5 thoughts on “Outside my comfort zone, say what God?

  1. Abby (FB Small Group Leader #12) says:

    Congratulation on your #YestoGod moment. I am the same way about speaking in front of people, so I can completely relate. Thank you for sharing your moment with us!

  2. sarahalsop81 says:

    Thank you Abby🙂. It is so encouraging to know that I am not the only who struggles with public speaking. Thank you for stopping by my blog. Hope you come back again soon

  3. sarahalsop81 says:

    You are so right, Paula🙂 That is why I love the promise Melissa reminded us of this week,”The one who calls you is faithful ,and he will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:24 NIV

Leave a Reply

