Completely

I’ve known for quite some time that God was calling me to a deeper level of commitment.  The problem was I had no idea how that was going to work.  I had just been offered a full-time that was going to require a lot of my time.  I volunteer in the youth group at the church where my family has attended since we moved in 1986.  My plate seemed full already, almost overly full in some areas.  Still I felt God drawing or trying to draw me into a deeper relationship with Him and level of commitment.

Then I felt God nudging me to join the current Proverbs 31 study, What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst.  Here I was again, except this time it was easier to commit to going deeper with God.  Why you may ask? The reason is this study didn’t begin until I was already on Summer Break, and even though I work two day a week during the summer, that meant I had three days a week to devote to going deeper with God.

It has been an incredible blessing to have the extra time to spend with God.  My fear is that when I go back to the real world, with only Saturday and Sunday, off I will not be so completely committed to my deeper level of commitment to God.   Even as I write this, I feel God saying, “daughter, remember my perfect love can cast out any fear you may have”  (1 John 4:18 NIV). “Trust me, give it all to me”.  So today, I am saying, #Yes to God again and putting my Palms Up.

I am grateful for is that saying #Yes to God is a daily choice.  That means if I mess up living it out today, I will have a new day to  allow God to make me the Yes Girl He created me to be.  I am so glad that God gives me another chance each day (Lamentations 3:22-23 NIV).

Now does that mean that I shouldn’t try my best today to keep my Palms Up and follow through with working on having a deeper level of commitment in my relationship with God? No way!  What that means to me is that God understands that I am only human. He understands that even though in my heart I am wholly committed to going to a deeper level of commitment, my follow through often falls short.

That is why I love this promise from 1 Thessalonians 5:24, “The one who calls you is Faithful, and He will do it”. What does that mean? To me, it means I am not alone in my commitment. God has called me to it, and through His strength I will be able to do it (2 Corinthians 12:9).  It also means  that I do not have to worry about what is going to happen next week  (Philippians 4:6 NIV)

Before, I start to wind this up for now, I want you to know I few truths about me and you as well:

  • I am on this journey called life, just like you are, which means am no better or worse than you are.  I say this because just because God has blessed me with the ability to put my thoughts down and venues through which to share them.  Thank you Proverbs 31 Ministries Blog Hop🙂 You are just as gifted as I am, God makes and gifts each one of us differently on purpose (Psalm 139:13-14 NIV). God didn’t want two of me, imagine that🙂

  • I am no Bible scholar. You may look at this blog and think dang she really knows her Bible.  Come closer, I will tell you a secret, I don’t.  Don’t get me wrong I have verses hidden in my heart (Psalm 119:11). Does that mean I always remember all the words or where it is found? Very Rarely.  There are these wonderful inventions called online Bible websites and Bible apps, that I use to look up the verse(s) I am trying to find.  I say that to encourage you if you are like me and have a hard time remembering specific references or verses, don’t despair. There are tools out there to help those of us with short memories and attention spans.  If you need help finding these resources, don’t be afraid to ask me, I’d love to help you and if I can’t I will do my best to find someone who knows more than I do to help us both.

Now that you know the truth about me, I pray this blog and my journey of saying yes to God has blessed you.  If there is anything in this post that you would like to know more about please feel free to ask me, I would love to share with and clarify anything for you.

I want to end today’s post, with the song that inspired its title.  This song just seems to summarize everything I’ve said and/or tried to say in this post.  It is my prayer for myself and all the other Yes Girls out there.  Especially my awesome Group 28 sisters.  You beautiful ladies ROCK!! I Love You All So Much!!

2 thoughts on “Completely

  1. Stephanie Edwards says:

    Sarah, loved this blog post! You spoke to my heart when you talked about busyness of everyday life and still being wholly committed. I believe with the Yes to God study, we will all have a new level of commitment to Him. Thanks for sharing your “secrets” about Scripture as well! It shows that you have a close relationship with Jesus!

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Stephanie, Busyness seems to be a constant battle in this life, doesn’t it? I agree that God is using this study to lead us into a deeper level of commitment with God. I am so glad you are in Group 28 for this study and we have the opportunity to be on this journey of saying Yes to God together.

      May God Bless You Today,

      Sarah

Leave a Reply

