The gift of inspiration

1240147_10151632936271961_1884472775_n1.jpg

In case you are reading my blog for the first time, and don’t know I am a 32 year young women who was born with a disability.  Why am I telling or reminding you of that? The reason is the person I am writing about this week wouldn’t have been a part of my life had I not been born with a disability.  You see, the lady I am going to talk about was my one on one aide.  Her name was Mrs. Joines.  She was with me from 3rd grade until I did not need her much anymore-in 10th, 11th, and 12th grade.

However, it isn’t the things that she did for me in class that I remember.  What do I remember? I remember that almost every time I didn’t need her help, she would be reading or doing a Bible study.  I remember wondering as a kid why did she do it? I mean she was a pastor’s wife, didn’t she know enough scripture already?

I doubt she realized this at the time, but even then she was modeling what a woman who says Yes to God with her life looks like.  I hate to admit, but as a teenager, I didn’t fully appreciate her obedience to God.    When I was upset about a grade, or something that happened in class, and then she’d start quoting scripture, I just did not get it.  Now that I am older though, I am so grateful that she was obedient to God’s call on her life.  Why you may ask? The reason is some of the scripture I use most often are the verses she quoted to me when I was a child and teen.

One of these verses became one of my life verses.  It is Philippians 4:13 which says, “I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength” (NLT).  I cannot even begin to count, the number of times I have quoted or remembered this verse with a smile on my face.  Every time I do I thank God for the legacy of obedience she modeled for me.

It is my hope that this encourages you today.  Especially the parents, teachers, or other adults who are building into children and teenagers, even when you do not think you are making an impact, you are.  Even though you may not see it right now, you are leaving a legacy behind you for all those who will come behind you. Mrs. Joines has been in Heaven for a while, but as long as I am still alive her legacy will live on in me.

What kind of legacy will you and I leave? I cannot speak for anyone else; I want the people in my life to remember me as someone who strived to be obedient to God’s call on her life.  What about you? What will you inspire in those you love?

4 thoughts on “The gift of inspiration

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Katrina, I am so glad you enjoyed this post. I love that God can use parts of our His Story to encourage each other. Yes, Mrs. Joines was a wonderful woman of God and a continues to be a blessing in my life. I pray that God uses me to model obedience to God for the children in my life like she did for me. Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog.

      Have a blessed weekend,

      Sarah

  1. Debbie G. says:

    Hi Sarah! I posted right after you on the PS31 blog hop so I thought I’d hop on over to your place and say hello. Thank you for sharing your story. It truly did encourage me. Each Sunday morning I teach a group of 4 year olds. I’m never sure what they have gotten out of our Bible story. I do try to make sure that each one feels loved and special while there. After reading your post I think Mrs. Joines would be proud of you for sharing your faith with others via your blog.🙂

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Hi Debbie I’m so glad you decided to hop over and say hello. I hope you come back again soon.

      I know what you are talking about with the little kids I use to help out with that age group on Sunday mornings. I have found that those days when the light bulb comes on,and they can answer your questions in their own, that makes everything else worth it.

      I am so honored that God was able to use me to encourage you. Thank you for your encouraging words to me as well. It is my hope that I’m honoring Mrs. Joines’ legacy of faith, and more importantly honoring the God we both love.

Leave a Reply

