Rescued and Restored By His Perfect Love

This week as part of the A Confident Heart study, we were asked to define perfect love.  So, I looked in my Quest Study Bible, which has a Bible dictionary in the back.

This is what I found:

  • Perfect: means flawless, without defect.
  • Love: wanting good to come to another person; being concerned and willing to work for another person’s benefit.

For me when I think of  “perfect love”, two things almost automatically to come to mind.  The first is Jesus is the very definition of perfect love.  He is the only human that will ever walk this earth will ever be flawless, or without defect.  So why do we expect ourselves to be perfect, when apart from Him it isn’t possible? That question is for another blog though, maybe next week? We’ll see🙂 You’ll have to come back next week to find out 🙂.

The second thing is a verse.  It is 1 John 4:18, it says, “There is no fear in love.  But perfect loves drives out fear…” I don’t know about you, but there have been times in my life that I have needed Jesus’ perfect love to drive out my fears along with other things.

There is one time in particular that stands out in my mind where I needed Jesus’ perfect love to cast out not only my fears, but other things as well.  This is why I decided to title this blog, “Rescued and Restored by His Perfect Love.” Have I got you wondering what the story behind the title is yet? Well hang in there with me, and I will do my best to tell you.  You see this isn’t the easiest story for me tell.  But I am going to say yes to God and share it anyway.

It begins in August 2004, I move in to campus housing to begin taking seminary classes. I was so excited to begin learning more about God, how to more effectively minister to and lead others to Christ.  Unfortunately, my excitement was short-lived.

Not long after classes began, I started to experience medical problems.  In the beginning, these problems were not much more than annoying.  As time passed, however, the problems got worse and worse.  At least in my mind they did.  To the point that I began depriving myself in an effort to fix the problem myself, of course it didn’t work. If anything it made it worse.

Then I got the “bright idea” maybe if I don’t think about it, it will just go away…Wrong!! The more I tried to not think about it, the more I seemed to think about it. Has anyone else ever had that happen? To make a long story, shorter, it got so bad, that I had to seek professional help, or I may not have been here to write this today.

Now almost 9 years later I can honestly tell you that if it weren’t for God’s perfect love I would not be who I am today, let alone be here.  I know the skeptics will say it was the medicine and the doctors that healed me.  To which I say, if God hadn’t gifted the people who came up with the medicine the ability to make it, it would not have existed, and I would not have been able to be helped by it.  Then, I would say, “who gifted the doctors with the ability to do what he or she does?” God.  I would also say that if the Spirit did not lived in me, it would have been easier to quit fighting the wrong thoughts in my head.  But because the Spirit lives in me, He was fighting for me when I didn’t know how to fight for myself (Romans 8:26).

Does this mean that I never struggle anymore? No way.  It means that I sometimes remember where to turn when I do.  So why do I share this story of rescue and restoration if I still mess up? The reason is if God can rescue and restore my messed up mind, he can do the same for you.

It is my prayer that this shortened version of my story of rescue/restoration blesses and encourages you today. Let me assure you that whether you feel God sees or hears you today, He does (Psalm 18:6).

Love and Prayers,

Sarah

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Rescued and Restored By His Perfect Love

  1. Lisa Schoro says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. It is amazing how when we fall into the well, Jesus reaches out to us and grabs our hand and never lets go. His perfect love is always with us and we cannot be seperated from it no matter what. You are a amazing women, and don’t let others steal your joy, run to Jesus, and sit with Him as often as possible, it is there you find that perfect love and peace.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Really enjoyed reading your blog this morning. You are so right, without God, the medicine wouldn’t be here to help heal. Thank you for sharing your story.

  3. nancysilvers2013 says:

    I agree too Sarah, God does gift Drs to do what they do and I praise God that He sustains you through your struggles.Thank you for sharing a difficult time in your life. Praising God with you for his perfect love!
    God Bless, Nancy Silvers OBS Small Group Leader

  4. klsaiken says:

    Oh my goodness, Sarah! I love you more and more everyday. You are a beautiful woman of Christ. I am honored to know you.
    Beautiful beautiful post and thank you for being so vulnerable in sharing your heart.
    Love you,
    Kristy Aiken ~ OBS Team Leader

    By the way, I LOVE the new look on here:-) LOVE IT>

  5. ajourneyoffaithhopeandlove says:

    The second thing is a verse. It is 1 John 4:18, it says, “There is no fear in love. But perfect loves drives out fear…” I don’t know about you, but there have been times in my life that I have needed Jesus’ perfect love to drive out my fears along with other things.

    Wow, I so needed this today. More than once on my Blog Hop journey today, I’ve found comfort in dealing with fear. And of course, fear is the root of doubt. I have many fears and doubts even, but one in particular keeps rearing its very nasty and ugly head lately. It has been so bad, that I have struggled with sleeping well and even having bad dreams. This verse I will add to the others in helping me be an overcomer with this fear. Thank you.

  6. Sandra Lynn says:

    True Sarah. Jesus is the only one to walk this earth and not ever to make a mistake. He is the only one who is perfect. Wow that you would say this- was just talking about this the other night in another bible study that I am doing. Thank you for sharing your story!

  7. Beverly says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Sarah! And thanks for being transparent by telling us you still mess up, but God still restores. We all mess up, but God is right there to pick us up and restore our soul.

Leave a Reply

