Overcoming my own doubt Luke 24:38

week 3 verse map

Each week one of the options for the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies Blog Hop is to unpack the weekly reflection verse.  Although I have reflected on and unpacked several of these weekly verses, I have never shared what I learned.  This week I felt God calling me to unpack the verse and share what I was learning.

Of course almost immediately a doubt came into my mind. I could hear that nagging voice saying, “You can not draw at all, so how are you going to unpack this verse?  You see, I have seen several of my sisters’ artwork as they have unpacked the verses each week. While I am very creative with words my ability to draw is almost nonexistent.

Despite the nagging voice, I still felt like God was calling me to unpack this verse and share what I was learning. So being the technology girl I am, I decided to see if there was a way to create a nice graphic on my computer.  The graphic at the top of this post is what I have come up with so far.   I say so far because I don’t believe God is done teaching through this verse yet.

The verse for this week is in Luke chapter 24, verse 38. It says, “Why are you troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds”. When I first looked at this verse three words seemed to stand out.  Those words are doubt, troubled, and rise. Then I wondered what do these words mean?

I found that:

  • Doubt means uncertainty or distrust
  • Troubled means agitated or disturbed
  • Rise means to show up, come about, or increase in influence

I don’t know about you, but when I doubt I often feel extremely agitated.  Often I become agitated with myself more than anyone else.  As a woman who truly loves God, it hurts me to think I don’t truly trust God.  If the word doubt means to distrust, then when I doubt God and His promises that is what I am doing, right?

Before you stop reading because the thought of distrusting God is hard and hurtful concept for you as well; stick with me for a second.  As I was thinking about this verse the last several days, God reminded me of a story in the Bible that I love.  What story is that?  It is a story that most of you may know; it is the story of Peter walking on the water to Jesus.

In Matthew, It says that Peter asks to come to Jesus on the water. Jesus tells Peter, “Come”.  Peter gets out the boat, walks on the water, until he takes eyes off of Jesus.  Then Peter begins to sink. He cries out Jesus and Jesus does not hesitate to reach and saves Peter (Matthew 14:28-30, NIV).

I love what Jesus says next…for me it ties this week’s reflection verse and this story together perfectly. Jesus says, “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt” (Matthew 14:31). Why did doubts rise in Peter’s mind? The answer is right there in scripture.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me” (Matthew 14:30, NIV)! I cannot tell you the number of times I have, like Peter, gotten distracted by my current circumstances and have begun to doubt God.

That is why I love Peter because he gives me hope.  Peter actually walked and talked with Jesus. Yet he still had doubts.  Then there is definitely hope for you and I.

I pray that Peter has brought encouragement to you today, like he did for me.

 

12 thoughts on “Overcoming my own doubt Luke 24:38

  1. Stacy says:

    SO TRUE, Sarah! If we’re not totally focused on God and what He is saying, it becomes way too easy to be distracted by everything around us and begin to doubt. I know I am guilty of this myself. Great food for thought. Wonderful blog! ~ Stacy (Group 28)

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Stacy, I too am getting distracted. It seems to happen to me most when I fall into the pit of comparison. Especially if I compare myself to others who have something my heart desires.

  2. Jennifer (Group 28) says:

    Sarah, I feel the same way about my artistic talent, or lack thereof. Fortunately, God has blessed you with not only another way to be visually artistic, but also with having the courage to post your “work around” and show others so we can feel more confident in our abilities. I am encouraged now to think outside the box and find other ways to dig into the Bible. Thank you Sister!

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Jennifer, I am so glad God used me to encourage you. I will tell you that I didn’t always share my work with others. This is new thing that God has been working with me on, so don’t lose heart dear sister. God is working in and through you as well. He who has begun a good work in you will be faithful to complete it Philippians 1:6

  3. Lori K, OBS Group Leader says:

    I loved your verse mapping. It is encouraging to know that Peter walked and talked with Jesus and still had doubt. What jumped out at me this time when I read Matthew 14:31 is that Jesus said, “You of little faith.” He didn’t say, “You of no faith.” That brings me comfort to know that even in those times of doubt, I still have a seed of faith. When I spend time in God’s Word, I am watering that seed of faith and it continues to grow. What a blessing to read your blog today. Thank you!

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Lori I am so glad that my blog blessed you. After I wrote this entry I prayed that God would use it to bless and encourage at least one person. I love what you said about the little faith. You encouraged me as well. I had never thought about it that way. Thank you

  4. Lisa-Marie collins says:

    Sarah, I am praying for you daily. This was awesome. I feel you are amazing. Never doubt yourself or what you have accomplished.

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Lisa-Marie,
      I am so thankful for your prayers. Thank you also for your encouraging words dear sister. They mean more than you know. It so hard not to doubt myself sometimes, but I’m striving toward a more confident heart.

Leave a Reply

