Beyond My Stinking Thinking…To Being Who I AM

Only Through Christ

Only Through Christ

I don’t know about you, but all too often I let what others think of me, become the way I see myself.  As I continue on this journey toward a more Confident Heart however, that is changing.  Yesterday was an election day here in Virginia, and I usually do not pay too much attention to the crazy campaign ads.  However, there was an ad for a particular candidate, I do not remember his name, but that is not important.  The reason I am mentioning this ad at all is because he said, that a person with a disability, has a disability as a result of the sins of his/her parents or her own sins (my paraphrase).  That God was using the disability as a form of punishment.

In case you were not aware, I was born with a disability.  My particular disability is called Cerebral Palsy.  Like any attribute that makes each of us unique, Cerebral Palsy is as different as the person who has it.  By that I mean, myself, and several of my friends have the same diagnosis.  However, the way we each were affected by it is different in each of us.

I said all of that to say, that if I let the words that politician said define me, I would believe that God was punishing me for some reason. Here is what I actually believe about myself:

Set apart for my unique purpose (Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:10)

Amazingly made by God Himself (Psalm 139:13-14)

Rescued, Restored, and Redeemed (Romans 5:8, John 3:16, Luke 19:10).

Adopted by the Kings of Kings and Lord of Lords (John 1:12, Romans 8:14-17).

Has Hope beyond her current circumstances (Philippians 4:12-13).

To anyone who is reading this, I want you to know a few things:

  1. I cannot be the person I described apart from Christ because I am not strong enough on my own (Phil. 4:13).  Without Christ I am just a sinful, broken, human being like everyone else (Romans 3:23).
  2. I don’t always believe what God says about me, so please don’t think I have it all together.  The truth is I don’t.  Overcoming stinking thinking is a daily battle for me, just like you.
  3. If you don’t know who you are in Christ, I would encourage you to ask Him to show you who you are in Him.  Then, if you’re like me you will need to ask Him to help you see yourself like He does.

To be honest, I believe that God has me write posts like this every so often, so that He can remind me who I am in Him.  Why would he need to do that? The reason is because I tend to be pretty forgetful.  Especially when I have had a hard day and feel beaten up by life.

If you would like to more about anything I’ve talked about today, please feel free to contact me, I would love to hear from you.  Even if you just want to say hi or something, that’s awesome too.

It is my prayer that today; we each would take at least a moment to remember the amazing person God created us to be.

Love and Prayers,

Sarah

 

 

6 thoughts on “Beyond My Stinking Thinking…To Being Who I AM

  1. Janet says:

    Oh Sarah – We all have “stinking thinking” and need the reminder that God made us EXACTLY like he wanted for a reason. We all are weak in flesh and strong in God…Thank you for this beautifully written blog. I think that the biggest disability we have around us is the inability to see ourselves the way God sees us. I LOVE the acronym with your name…I will have to try that too!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Sandra Lynn says:

    Sarah,
    I couldn’t believe that candidate said that. Our God does not punish us for anything, That really blows my mind. You are God’s child and He loves you! Thank you for sharing this with us. God Bless you!

  3. bloggerlovestheking says:

    Beautiful Sarah and I think that politician needs a God lesson – maybe some scriptures mailed to him. My grandson was born with a rare skin disease – EB. If I thought for a minute it was because God was punishing my son and his wife I think I would be angry. I believe God has great plans for my grandson and I DO NOT believe it is for punishment – perhaps a testimony, perhaps a healing miracle. I don’t know and I may not know in my life time, but God’s plan is perfect. Loved your post. Blessings and hugs. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

  4. Laurie Miller says:

    I love your post. I cannot believe that man’s horrible statement. That is such archaic thinking. You are a beautiful person, inside and out, and I can tell God is using you in such a good way. You have not chosen to be angry about your situation, you have chosen to trust God and let Him be glorified in you. It’s a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

