One of the first loves of my life

My chains are gone…I am not

My Grandpa and Me

My Amazing Grandpa and I

Today is not an easy day for me.  The reason is today would have been my grandpa’s birthday.  Even though he died when I was 17 years old, I still miss him.  He was such an amazing man.  I know in this picture, he looks like just an ordinary man, and he was to most people.   Not to me though, to me he was my Grandpa, and that alone made him amazing.

So you may be thinking so what made him so amazing? Well I could go on for days about him, but I will keep this blog post a reasonable length, I promise.

One thing I have always struggled with was the bondage of comparison. I started a full time position this school year, in which I am doing some tasks I have never done before.  More than once, I have caught myself thinking I wish I was good at that as that person.  You see, there are multiple people in our building who have a similar job title to mine.  The difference is the person I am comparing myself to has done that particular task multiple times, where it is my first time.

Why do we do that to ourselves? We place an unfair comparison on ourselves, or possibly someone else.  Then we feel like a failure.  We may even begin to doubt our own worth as person? A child of God?

  What does that have to do with my Grandpa? Well one of the things that made my grandpa so amazing is that I never felt like I had measure up for him to love me.  All I ever had to be was his “doll baby” and he loved me.

What an amazing concept huh? That you and I can be and are loved whether we feel like we always measure up or not.  It’s true.  You may be thinking wait a minute, Sarah, I don’t have anyone who loves me that way.  Oh dear friend, yes you do.  Scripture says, “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8, NIV).  You may not  have stepped over the line and accepted His free gift of  salvation.  God still loves you unconditionally.  He loved you before you were even born (Jeremiah 1:5, NIV).

A freeing concept isn’t it? That not one has to measure up to worldly standards to be  truly and completely loved.  Thank you Jesus for taking our place, so that we can live in true and lasting freedom.  May we all learn that we don’t have to live in the bondage of comparison or failure.

I am going to close my blog tonight with a video.  Amazing Grace is one of the first songs I ever remember learning to sing.  My grandpa used to love for me to sing it.  Especially when I wasn’t much bigger than I was in the photo at the top of this post.  So I could not think of a more appropriate way to close tonight’s post.

Love and Prayers,

Sarah

 

 

4 thoughts on “My chains are gone…I am not

  1. Jennifer (Group 28) says:

    Amazing post Sarah and so heartfelt. You post a very valid question. Why do we compare ourselves to others, *especially* when we are doing something for the first time. Of course we won’t do it as well as the person who has done it 57 times. But so many of us do that! I think your grandfather was blessed to have such a loving granddaughter. And he is looking down on you right now and smiling, a big incomparable smile!

  2. Stacy says:

    Sarah, I LOVE this. It reminds me of my own precious Granddaddy. I miss him so much. And you are so right about the comparison game we play. I’ve heard it said once, in reference to that, that when we do that, we are comparing our worst moments to another person’s highlight reel. We have got to STOP DOING THIS! I’m learning to rest in the fact that I am who God made me to be and I’m not meant to be someone else. I am living for an audience of One!

Leave a Reply

