Turning to the Light…Meeting With Him

I don’t know about you, but life often bogs me down. As a matter of fact, it has been happening a lot lately.  My grandpa’s birthday would have been November 14.  Then, the anniversary of his death was November 29th.  Needless to say, November is one of my least favorite months of the year.

It is at times like these that it easy for me to drift away from God.  Why is that? For me, it seems to happen because I am already feeling down.  Then, Satan begins to whisper words in my ear, things like, “no one will ever love you like your Grandpa did again”.  Satan’s whispers are sometimes harder to recognize.   One, that is harder for me to recognize often sound like, “Oh Sarah. You’re so tired; one day won’t make that much difference.  The problem with that thinking for me, is if I don’t have my time alone with God one day, and then neglecting my relationship with Him gets easier with each passing day.

I am not saying that I make a conscience decision to neglect my relationship, but let’s face it, life happens…. Then if you’re like me, some days your energy just runs out.   That is why it so important for me to set aside time to spend with God.

This week I began taking part of Advent study, this week we are talking about Jesus bringing Hope and Light into the world.  I don’t know about you, but I need a little Light and Hope in my life.  Especially, when life gets me down or becomes overwhelming.  For it is in those moments, that the Darkness creeps in and threatens to overtake the Light. However, I am so grateful for this promise, “the Light shines in the Darkness, and the Darkness can never extinguish it” (John 1:5, NLT, capitalization mine).

So how do I hold on to this promise in the midst of all this chaos called life?  How do I stay focused on the light and away from the darkness?  I do it by spending time alone with God.  For me, there is no other way to keep my focus on the light of life except to spend time with Him, who gives the Light of Life (John 8:12 NIV).

Although my time alone with God, looks different each day, there are a couple of things I do daily:

  1. I go away for a while.  What I mean by this is I go in another room, so that is just He and I.  Usually, this takes place in my room.  The reason is I can close my door and be by myself.  When it is nice outside, I like to go out on the patio and sit.
  2. I get my focus right. I love to sing praise and worship songs to get my mind and heart focused on God.  I don’t know about you, but most days, I have about a thousand thoughts in my mind all at once.  Maybe that’s why it sometimes takes a while to write because I have to sort out my thoughts first. Has anybody else ever felt like that, like you need someone to sort through your thoughts for you? I have found that Praise and Worship helps me do that. My headphones help me to block out the other noises in my house that would distract me.
  3. Now I am focused and ready to hear what God has to teach or say to me that day.

My prayer for each of us today is that we would find time to spend time with God each day.  Don’t worry if you’re not a morning person, I am not either these days.  Thankfully, nowhere in the Bible does it say God only wants to spend time with me in the early morning J.  Although, I do love listening to the local Christian station on the way to work, to remind me who I am to give Glory to in everything I do (Colossians 3:23).  So dear friends, I pray that each of us, turns away from the darkness, that tries to keep us from spending time in the light.  I will be praying for each of you because I know for me this is a daily battle.

As I close today, I am going to share one of my new favorite songs, and yes I was singing it as I wrote this post.

3 thoughts on “Turning to the Light…Meeting With Him

  1. Sandi Brewer~~OBS Small Group Leader says:

    It really is so easy to let our plans to spend time with God slip away, isn’t it? Vacation is always a hard time for me–I get out of my usual routine of waking early and having my devotional time before the others are up. I really like the intentionality of your plans–from the location to the music–it shows how important this time is to you.
    Thank you for sharing your experience!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Beautifully written, as always! Thanks for praying for all of us that we find the time we need daily to devote to God. I am constantly fighting the battle of putting “things” aside so I can spend much-needed time with Him. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

