There is Power in the Blood…. Empowered by Christ

God’s timing is always perfect. Monday was the International Day of Acceptance in the disability community.  One of the champions of the International Day of Acceptance is a company called 3elove.  Why am I including this company in my first blog post for the Proverbs 31 Made To Crave Study? The reason is simple for me the two are connected.  You see, the 3 e’s of 3elove are “Embrace diversity, Educate your community, and Empower each other” Annie Hopkins, 3E Love Founder.

As a participant in the newest Proverbs 31 Online Bible study, Made To Crave by Lysa TerKeurst, we were given a word of the week.  Can you guess what it is? I will give you a hint it is in BOLD in the first paragraph:). Ok, the word of the week is EMPOWER! How cool is that?

If you are new to my blog, you may not understand why I think this is so awesome.  Let me explain, I just happen to be a 32-year-old disabled follower of Jesus.   So when I looked at the possible for this week’s blog hop, it was clear which one God was leading me to share with you.

What does the word Empower mean?

  •   According to dictionary.com, the definition of empower is to give the power or authority to.

So what does that mean to/for me?

  •    Because I was born with a disability, I am empowered to change the way people see people with disabilities like me.
  •   Because I am uniquely crafted by God I can reach and impact people’s lives in a way that no one else could.

Does that mean it will be easy to get others to see beyond my physical disability?

  • Not by a long shot, but thankfully I am not relying on my own power to do anything. How is that possible? It is possible because I accepted the free gift that Jesus offered to each of us on the cross (Roman 10:9).  When I accepted Christ as my Savior, I no longer had to rely on my own power to accomplish anything (Galatians 2:20).

I am not saying that I do not have hurdles to overcome anymore because of my faith in Christ.   What I am saying is when the hurdles and hard days come; I am empowered to keep persevering even when everything in me is crying out to quit.

How do I do that?

  • Amazing People: I have amazing people in my life who speak truth into my life on those hard days.  They remind who/whose I am. A community of like-minded people is such a blessing.  I encourage you to find people who love you enough to speak empowering truth into your life.
  • Working on my relationship: I don’t do this as well as I should, but by working on my relationship with Christ is one of the ways I stay empowered.  This helps me to remember the truth of who I am in Him.  “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13). This is not the only truth He reminds me of, but it is one of my family

Are you empowered tonight? It is my prayer that each of us would feel empowered daily.  If you need some awesome people in your life, which will help you on the difficult days, I pray that you will reach out and find them.

 

 

3 thoughts on “There is Power in the Blood…. Empowered by Christ

  1. Miriam Lind says:

    Hello!! I am new to your blog and really enjoyed the post! I work with individuals with disabilities and found your post all the more inspiring because of it🙂 So far, I’ve been viewing this M2C journey mostly about food- while that’s been great for me, it is wonderful to hear how other people are interpreting EMPOWER in their own unique way! We have such a BIG GOD! Keep up the writing. Here’s my take on the journey so far. http://cravingsconfidential.blogspot.com. God bless!

  2. prunable says:

    Sarah, you are so right in that working on our relationship with Christ is one way to stay empowered!! You words are very inspiring to me and are for anyone who has ANY hurdles to overcome, whether they be physical, mental or emotional. Our power to overcome these hurdles comes from the LORD, not ourselves! Thank you for sharing your words from your heart with us.

    In His love,
    Pat (OBS Blog Team)

  3. Natalie says:

    Sarah, I love this quote from your blog “I am empowered to keep persevering even when everything in me is crying out to quit.” so powerful. God will give us the strength to persevere and overcome. Thank you for sharing and posting. Natalie (OBS Blog team)

Leave a Reply

