Give It All To Him…1Peter 5:7-8

Made 2 Crave 2014  Week 2  Reflection Verse

Made 2 Crave 2014
Week 2 Reflection Verse

Each week one of the options for the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies Blog Hop is to unpack the weekly reflection verse.  Although I have reflected on and unpacked many of these weekly verses, I had never shared what I learned, until several months ago.  This week I felt God calling me to unpack the verse and share what I was learning again.

When I shared my first verse map several months ago, doubt almost immediately came into my mind. I could hear that nagging voice saying, “You can not draw at all, so how are you going to unpack this verse?  You see, I have seen several of my sisters’ artwork as they have unpacked the verses each week. While I am very creative with words my ability to draw is almost nonexistent.

Despite the nagging voice, I still felt like God was calling me to unpack this verse and share what I was learning. So being the technology girl I am, I decided to see if there was a way to create a nice graphic on my computer.  So the first graphic at the top of this post, is a this week’s reflection verse.

‘The  second graphic under these words,  is what I have come up with so far.   I say so far because I don’t believe God is done teaching through this verse yet.

My Verse Map for 1 Peter 5:7-8

My Verse Map for 1 Peter 5:7-8

Why am I telling you all of this before I unpack this week’s verse? I don’t want the devil to keep anyone from sharing and digging into God’s word.  There may be someone out there like me, that isn’t a gifted artist.  That’s okay. The above graphic is a SmartArt Graphic from Microsoft Word, all I did was put the text in it, and change the colors.  That’s right, you too can verse map.

Now on to unpacking this week’s verse…As soon as I started reading this week’s verse, two words seemed to jump off the page.  What are those two words?

  • Anxiety
  • Prowls

Why these two words?

  1. It personal:
  • I come from a long line of worriers.  I have dealt with anxiety in many forms throughout my life.  So it is no big surprise for me that the word anxiety would stand out when I read this verse.
  • When I tend to think of the devil, I usually think of a little man with horns that sits on my shoulder and tempts me.  In reality, he is more like a prowler, who waits around to steal things from you and I (John 10:10),

2.  You and I were made for more:

  • We were not meant to have anxious hearts and minds. “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7).  Can we have have a sound mind when we are anxious? I know I can’t.  When I am anxious all I can seem to think about is the situation that is causing me to have the anxiety.  That causes everything else to be blocked out, even the truth of God’s word.  That’s how the devil often gets a hold on me, he helps me to forget I was made for more.  Guess what? So were you, friend! You are God’s precious creation and were made for more than being held back by temporary situations.

3. This battle is not ours to fight

  • God wants us to bring our worries, cares, and anxieties to Him so that He can take care of these situations.  Philippians 4:6 says, “Don’t be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God”(NIV).
  • How is this battle not ours? The answer is this is more than a physical battle, it is a spiritual one as well.  “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms (Ephesians 6:12, NIV).

Dear God I pray that you bless each person who reads my blog.  May he/she be encouraged by something they read during their visit here. Maybe he/she will try digging into your Word, regardless of his/her artistic ability.  He/she may just need to be reminded that no matter battle he/she is facing, he/she never faces it alone.  I am so thankful to have you on my side, God, fighting my battles with me.  Regardless of why he/she is here, I am so glad she is.  May my words bring Glory and Honor to You.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

11 thoughts on “Give It All To Him…1Peter 5:7-8

  1. TABrownWV says:

    Love the graphics and thanks for your honesty. I feel the same way too and I have to remind myself that just because I don’t study or do bible verse mapping that God hasn’t equipped me to study his word differently than others. It should also not be used as an excuse either. The devil is a liar and I love what you did here.

  2. Steph says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way you made mapping your own! I am more linear, and attempting to map the way I had been shown was just not working for me- it felt like grueling work! And yet- I had never thought about doing it another way… duh! Reading your map was like “ah-ha! THAT makes sense to me!!” 🙂

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Steph, I am so glad you were able to see verse mapping another way by reading my blog today. When I first started attempting it was overwhelming to me as well. Then God made it clear to me that it was really about me learning from Him and His Word. The form our verse maps take isn’t what is really important. I pray that you keep digging into His Word and come back to visit often🙂
      Blessings,
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

