Give Peace a Chance

1616635_10151942063178067_928375922_n

Last week I unpacked a verse.  If you haven’t read my post from last week, I encourage to go back and read it.  Not because I am all that and a bag of chips or anything, haha! Actually, it has very little to do with me at all y’all.  It’s all God!! If you haven’t read last week’s post yet, you are probably sitting there thinking,”what is she talking about?”

So let me do a quick recap:

  • Last week I did some verse mapping of 1 Peter 5:7-8
  • While I was studying those verses two words stood out to me
  • One was anxiety and the other was prowl
  • Anxiety/worry has been a part of my life for a long time
  • We were not meant to be filled with anxiety worry, we were meant to be filled with something else….
  • If you want to read last week’s full post click here

As a girl who is prone to anxiety, who knows she was made for more… I want to get beyond the anxiety and worry. What I truly want is peace. Can anyone guess what the word for this week yet? That’s right it is PEACE…God knew this anxiety prone Jesus girl needed to spend some time learning about peace.

I don’t know about you, but it easier for me to sometimes and not so easy at others. Why is that? Well my Quest study Bible freedom from disturbance; calm.  My life is rarely free from disturbance or calm.  Think about it when was the last time you really had freedom from all disturbance? For me, it seems to happen most when I separate myself from the disturbances in my life.  Right now for example, I am sitting alone in my room writing, listening to the birds outside my window, and I feel at peace.

When I think about the peace that God gives though I don’t think about situational peace.  What do I mean by situational peace? When everything is calm and good in my life, then I feel at peace.  No. I don’t think that is the peace that God can give you and I.  When I think about the peace that God can give each of us, I almost automatically think of the verse in the above graphic.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:7, NIV).

So what does God’s peace look like?

  • Unshakable: Regardless of what’s going on, there is a feeling of security that God truly is who he says He is and keeps His promises.  Then we will also believe what He says about each of us as well.

How is this possible?

  • Well if we look at the verse just above this one, we just might find a key.

 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6, NIV).

  • Instead of letting anxiety have control, when we begin to feel anxious, we turn to God. You might be thinking, but Sarah I can’t pray every time I feel anxious.  Prayers don’t have to be long.  When I know something may cause me anxiety, I have prayed simply,” God, please help me”.
  •   What if  I can’t find the words? When I can’t find the words, I have found that music can help too.  Often while singing I will express feelings I couldn’t before.

When we turn over our anxiety to God, we are no longer held captive by it.  Instead God enables us to take those thoughts captive.  Then we can replace those thoughts, with God’s truth, and experience His peace.

So my prayer this week is that we all dig into the Word, so that we will be able to take our anxious thoughts captive.   Then we will be able to give God’s peace a chance.

6 thoughts on “Give Peace a Chance

  1. janice says:

    What a God moment. God has been teaching me this the last few days. was getting ready to post my thoughts in our group today. and then read this. wow. it all goes together. and i love how you do the verse mapping. i have been looking for a way to do it with computer. thank you sooooo much.

  2. infinitelyfaithful says:

    Hi there! My name is Sara Dillman and I am the small group leader go group 43. I am so thankful that I was able to read your blog today! I think too often we revert to situational peace rather than giving all of our anxieties to God.

  3. anhelms@gmail.com says:

    Wow! I love the bible verse. Never saw it like that before. Thanks for breaking it down. Just give it to God! Love it!

Leave a Reply

