It’s My Party And I’ll Cry If I Want To

I don’t know about you, but there are days I want to do just what the girl in this song is doing, throw myself a pity party. I have every right to don’t I?

Look at my life:

  • I was born with a disability and have struggled all my life in one way or another.
  • My dad was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer 6 years and has had go through multiple forms of treatment to be here.  After his bone marrow transplant the doctors told us this is our “new normal”.
  • I have a bachelor’s degree, but I am still working in my hometown, while living at home.

It’s just not FAIR!!! My family and I are believers, who do our best to live out our faith.  Why would God allow us to struggle like this? Why would God allow me to stay in a place that could be so limiting for me?

The key I think is right there in the above block quote.  I said, “My family and I are believers, who do our best to live out our faith”.  When I am relying on my own strength to live out my faith in Christ, I fall short.  It is in these times that I often exchange God’s peace for the situational peace I talked about last week. Situational peace not only robs me of lasting peace, but of God’s perspective as well.

So what’s the difference between God’s perspective and mine?

  1. Instead of an it’s just not fair attitude, counting the blessing in the midst of it allFor example:
    • I have a different out look than many people as a result of my physical differences that has allowed me to reach people in a way that is uniquely
    • Yes my dad being diagnosed with cancer has changed all of our lives, but I am extremely grateful to still have him here with us.  Yes. I am truly a daddy’s girl.  I am thankful that God is using this experience to impact the lives of others as well.
    •   Living and working in my hometown has given me the opportunity to give back to the community that has given me so much over the years.  There is the blessing of not having to pay rent while living at home, which means I have been able to save money to take care of things in the future.
  2. Through God’s perspective we can find true contentment
  • “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:11-13, NIV)

  • Paul was imprisoned and had a thorn in his flesh (2 Corinthians 12:6-8, NIV), yet he found contentment in Christ. The best part is we can too.

Since I started this post with a song, I am going to end with one as well. This is my prayer for all of us as we continue on this journey together.

Love and Prayers have a great rest of the week.

 

11 thoughts on “It’s My Party And I’ll Cry If I Want To

  1. gena says:

    I often wonder why it is so easy to have that pity party instead of focusing on all the blessings. I have been making a concious effort to be more positive and encourage my friends to look for God’s blessings when we are feeling “it’s not fair” or wanting to have that full blown pity party! Thanks for sharing today! Gena (Group 50)

  2. Jill Raymond says:

    Love this reminder to focus on our blessings instead of the other things, as God is in the midst of it all. I love you, my sister!

  3. infinitelyfaithful says:

    Hi Sarah! My name is Sara Dillman and I am the small group leader of group #43. Thank you so much for sharing with us your ‘It’s not fair statements”. It is so easy to fall into a pity party of sorts when we think about how “It’s not fair”. Too often do I not take time to think about God’s perspective instead of just mine. Thanks again for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

