We can get real satisfaction….Soul-filling Satisfaction

Week 5 M2C blogAs a part of Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study this week, we were asked to asked how we respond to this promise? The promise is on the right side of the above graphic.  Here it is again, in case it is hard to read above:

For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things” (Psalm 107:9) – See more at: http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/current-study/#sthash.mqojycXJ.dpuf
For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things” (Psalm 107:9).
I find that promise extremely freeing. Think about it, anyone who is a follower of Christ, does not have to struggle to find true and lasting satisfaction.  How is that possible? Anyone who accepts Christ’s gift of living water, will never thirst again (John 4:14, NIV).  How is that possible? When Christ lives in our hearts, we are enabled through Him to find an eternal, lasting satisfaction.
Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John (4:13-14, NIV)
Does this mean that as someone who has asked Christ into her heart, that I live like I truly do have this freedom daily? Unfortunately no. Why not? The reason is I am a sinner, just like all of us (Romans 3:23).  As I have been sitting here, I have been thinking why am I not living in the freedom of deep soul filling satisfaction?
One thing keeps coming to my mind, where I am trying to find my satisfaction is wrong. All too often I try to find lasting satisfaction from the people in my life. Only to be let down again, when his/her own humanity/brokenness shows through. Can I get an Amen from my fellow people pleasers, come on I know there is at least one of you out there. I know it isn’t something I’m particularly proud of either, but isn’t it great to know you aren’t alone?

 

The amazing thing is we can ask God to help us let our people pleasing ways, and truly embrace the deep, soul-filling satisfaction only He can give us. So today I am going to end with a prayer.

 Dear God,

I thank you for each person that took the time to read my blog today. I thank you for the ability to write and share with others. I thank you for Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies for giving me the outlet to share with so many amazing Jesus Girls. May you bless each one. If any of us have situations that are keeping us from experiencing your soul-filling satisfaction, we ask Father that You would help us to identify it, and empower us through your strength to get rid of it.

In Jesus Name I Pray,

Amen

3 thoughts on “We can get real satisfaction….Soul-filling Satisfaction

  1. Yvonne Fuchs OBS Group #49 Leader says:

    Wonderfully stated! I know that in the past I have put my hope of having my satisfaction filled by family, husband and children only to be let down. I KNOW that I have let people down before and either way it leaves you feeling empty. We, being human, can only try to live as we should. Enjoyed reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

