Frustration or Freedom

Serenity-Prayer-01

As I was sitting at home the other day, due to a rare March snow day, I started thinking… Yes. I know at times that could be dangerous, hahaha.  This school year we have an abnormally high number of snow days.  It is to the point that my co-workers and I for the most part no longer enjoy, our once precious snow days. If you know anyone who works in education, you maybe thinking that is next to impossible.  I am here to tell you that it is definitely possible.

Looking out the window at the falling snow, I began thinking about the fact that I was no longer sure how I should feel about snow or even snow days. I came to two realizations that day.  What are these realizations?

These realizations are:

  1. I could worry and stress over things I cannot control.
  • Like whether we miss a certain number of snow days or not this school year.  Then we may lose a holiday because the state requires that we spend a certain number of hours in school each year.

2. I could choose to see the things I cannot control in a different way.

  • What do I mean by that? I could choose to have a different perspective on this March snow day.  You may be wondering what this different view on the snow day is.. For me, it meant I had an extra day work on projects I wanted to get done this week, but I may have put off due to lack of energy after work. I got some extra rest that I wasn’t counting as well, which was a unexpected yet welcome gift.

Which would you choose?

  • To be frustrated and held back by situations beyond your control
  • Make the decision to view your current circumstances in a different light.

I know what you might be thinking, but Sarah that is easier said than done.  Believe me I know.  The awesome part is each person has the ability to choose his/her perspective.  That’s right, we are not robots that are programmed or told exactly how we are supposed to think/feel.  Isn’t that amazing!!!  Each person is created with the power to choose.

You may be thinking, ” that’s great, Sarah, but I made some choices I am not proud of”. Well friend that is another amazing truth, “each day you another chance to choose to take a different path or perspective ” (Lamentations 3:22-23, NIV).

Another example comes from yesterday’s blog post.  If my and I had decided that I should stay home from camp that first summer.   When I got to the platform in that tree, I could have easily chosen to not ride the zip line down.  You see it is often small choices that lead to larger decisions.  What I am trying to say is take it one step at a time, one situation at a time. Then when the more difficult scenarios arise, it will be a little easier to have a more freeing perspective.

 

One thought on “Frustration or Freedom

  1. klsaiken says:

    Sarah, I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this. Perspective is critical. That is one reason I loved Ann Voskamps’s 1,000 Gifts. I will make the decisions to view my current circumstances in a different light. Thank you for all the beauty you possess. Love you.

Leave a Reply

