Round and Round I Go..

AP Week 3.jpg

Have you ever felt like you were going around in circles? Maybe you have kept saying that you really wanted to accomplish something, yet you kept putting it off.  That is how I felt about my writing for several years.  It has been confirmed for me that I have a gift for writing on several occasions.  So what has kept me sharing my gift with others?

At first it was fear and doubt.  I mean I am only an ordinary girl from a small town, aren’t I? Almost immediately, I felt God saying, beautiful daughter, Trust Me!”. I would say, “of course, Father, I do.” Yet, no sooner had the words come out of my mouth, I went back to doing everything the same way I had always done it.  So where did the trust go? The trust was still there.  As a matter of fact, it was right where it had always been as well.  You see, I had become comfortable with trusting God. As long as trusting God did not require me to go outside of my comfort zone.

I mean I started a blog, in the hopes of sharing my gift with others, right?  The simple is Yes.  As you may have guessed however, the answer was not that simple.  You see, at first I was only sharing my blog with people I already knew.  That is a step isn’t it?  Of course it was, however it was a safe step.  How is that a safe step, you may ask?  People who love me, are not likely to offer me real feedback are they? Truthfully, before I began sharing my writing with a wider audience I received very little feedback at all.

Then God\ offered me a new opportunity.  An opportunity which if I took it would land me outside of my comfort zone.  God led me to a new adventure called Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies. (If after you read this post, you are curious about Proverbs 31, I added a link in the previous sentence. If you would like to ask me a question about Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies, I would love to answer it, just leave it in the comment section below this blog).

When I first began participating in Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies, I was not really actively participating.   What do I mean by that?  To me that means, while I was doing the suggested assignments, I was not investing the time that God was calling me to invest.  Why is that?  Until I invested the time, I would not feel the sense of community I desired.

Then I saw on the study blog, that I could request to be in something called a Facebook small group.  Even though I did not fully understand it, I decided to request to be in a small group.   I had been my awesome Facebook group for one study, I think, when I felt God telling me to take another step of faith.  He said, “daughter share your gift”.  Again, I had doubts.  This time though, I decided to take that leap.  So I wrote my first blog hop post, and linked it to the study blog on blog hop day.  I have to tell you that I was scared to death to share that first time.  Now though, Blog Hop Day, has become my favorite day of the week.  Why is that? The answer is simple, my Proverbs 31 sisters are awesome!! Don’t believe me go check it out.

It blows my mind, that I may have missed out on all of that.  I  am so thankful that God led me to stop circling the way I always had been, and head north in obedience

Leave a Reply

