Beyond The Labels

I have not really been able to write the past of days…Why you may ask? Too many different ideas/feelings going on in my head and heart.  Then if you add in temporary illness, I was done in by the end of the day.  Today, however, there is something on my heart that I feel God wants me to share.  Each one of has categories or labels that wear from time to time.  Some of which we are proud to wear.  I don’t know about you, but I am proud to be a daughter, sister, and a friend.  Most days anyway🙂

“The danger comes I believe, when we allow our labels to become our limits.”

What do I mean by that? Well I will tell you. We have the ability to allow one label to define who we are as a person. For example, if I let the fact that I was born with a disability, keep me from demonstrating the other pieces of the puzzle that make me who I am.  Yes, I am a person who happens to have been born with a physical disability.  However, I am so much more than that.  I am a young woman who loves children, has a passion for writing, loving people like Jesus, just to name a few.

However, I have to make a choice.  Am I going to allow my labels to define or not? You may be wondering what’s the big deal? Why does the way I see myself even matter? For me, if I do not see myself as the multidimensional, then one else will either.  If I don’t show the people around me that I am more than my disability, then how can I honestly expect them to see me as anything/one else? The answer is I should not.

“Beyond the label”

Can you see me?

Who I am today?

What do you say?

What do you see?

When you look at me?

Will you give me a chance?

Beyond this normal song and dance.

I know it may take awhile,

To see behind the sometimes fake smile.

It will be worth though,

When you take the time to get to know someone new you will always grow.

You may even learn something you did not know.

Who knows you may make a friend from a one-time foe.

How awesome would that be?

All because you took a minute of your time that was free.

So what are you going to do?

The choice is up to you.

Are you going to judge others without knowing them?

Or take the time to see the person within?

Tonight, I want to challenge each of us to see the people in our lives beyond his/her labels.  See him/her the way you would want him/her to see you (Matthew 7:1).

Dear God,

I want to thank you that we do not have to be defined by opinions of others or our labels.

  Thank you that when we are in Christ, we are no longer defined by human standards, but are defined by what you say about us.

In Jesus Name, Amen

One thought on “Beyond The Labels

  1. Amber says:

    God’s love is the only thing thing should define us. All the rest is nothing compared to His love!
    Our pastor preached a sermon on labels. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

