So that or So what?

Thank You P31 for this awesome graphic and Wendy Blight for being obedient to God and writing Living So That

Thank You P31 for this awesome graphic and Wendy Blight for being obedient to God and writing Living So That

In the beginning of Wendy Blight’s new book, Living So That she talks about two kinds of lives. The So that life and the so what life.  What’s the difference in these two ways of life? Well a so what life is, “self-centered and static” (Blight, 5). While a so that life, ” is others-centered and active, making a difference for the Kingdom of God” (5).

Then she poses a What does it really mean to live a so that life?  That question has stuck with me since the first time I began reading this book.  As a matter of fact, I have a post it in my book that says, ” So that or So what? What kind of legacy are you leaving behind right now”.  It may seem strange to you that when a 32 year old young woman is thinking about a “so that life, she thinks about the legacy she is leaving behind at such a young age.

To be perfectly honest, there are several factors that cause me to answer the question what does it really mean to live a so that life the way I do:

  • Mortality: Having lost several friends too young, I am conscious of the fact that each day and opportunity is unique, therefore, I need to make the most of it.  For me, that means leaving a legacy behind daily. Whether I am helping a student learn how to shelve books at work, or I am blogging about a something new I have learned.  I want my life to have a lasting impact. Most importantly to me, I don’t want to wait til I am old and gray to do it. I want to do it while I still have the energy and the cognitive ability to bless others.
  • Perspective: I realized a long time ago, that my perspective was unique.  God blessed me from birth with an unique set of challenges that  have helped to shape into the woman I am becoming.  That is one of the reason I began blogging in the first place.  It is my prayer that as we share life together, you may come to see the world in a new way, at least temporarily.
  • Blessed: Throughout my life I have been blessed that God has placed people in my life that have left an impression on my heart.  As a result of these blessings, I desire to bless the people God places in my life in the same way. This is especially true when it comes to the children God has placed in my life. No they are not mine, but I have the privilege of being a part of their lives.  Even if it is only for a moment, I pray each one knows he/she is valued and loved.

For me, as I begin this Living So That journey, really living a so that life, means I put actions behind my desire to live each day to the fullest while leaving a legacy on the hearts and lives of those around me.  So that one day when my body is no longer present in this life, I will not be forgotten.

Now that you know what living a so that means to me… I have a question for you, what does living a so that life mean for you?

If you are unsure or just want to join my sisters as well as myself on this journey, we would love to have you, you can sign up here

 

 

 

 

One thought on “So that or So what?

Leave a Reply

