Connection…

10169092_10152045092843067_476601463_n(1)

Once again, I was sitting here trying to figure out what to share.  Then it hit me! For a week or so now, I have felt burdened to share about community.  Yet, every time I have attempted to pour the words on to the screen, I could not get my thoughts to organize. Have you ever had that happen? Maybe for you it was not about sharing through the written word. Maybe you needed to talk to someone about an important issue, yet each time, you attempted to speak to the person about it, you just could not find the words. Frustrating, isn’t it?

Well that is where I have been for at least a week now.  About a week or so ago, I attended a prayer gathering for a young man in our community who has cancer.  I have to tell you it was an amazing thing!! This was not my first prayer gathering, however, it was a great reminder of what this life and community is really supposed to look like. There were preachers from two different churches, and about 250 members of our community present.  Some of us weren’t even sure we knew the person whose hand we were holding as prayers were being said. None of that mattered though, we were all there for one purpose, to lift up and encourage this sweet family.

If you ask me that is why God designed us to need connection and community.  So that, no matter what happens in life, we are reminded that we are not alone.  From the very beginning, God realized that we needed connection and relationship with each other. He created Eve for Adam (Genesis 2:18). Then He sent Jesus, so that we could have a relationship with Him, through His death on the cross (John 3:16).

You may be thinking, that’s great Sarah, but I am a little different, and have a hard time finding a place/group to connect.  I hear you, friend. I am different as well, so my heart connects with yours.  I experienced this disconnect the most during middle and high school. It was far from cool to be different, and here I was, the sensitive young lady, who could not hide her differences. I probably don’t have tell you that there were some horribly hard days from time to time. Looking back now though, I can see that God was beginning to teach me that, I did not have to fit into a mold to be accepted and loved because He loves me EXACTLY the way I am.  The great news is, He loves and accept YOU too!!

Then in college, it was reaffirmed for me.  Of course not everyone loved me. That is okay though, because my friends did and some still do. I found community in BCM (Baptist Campus Ministry/then BSU) and my sorority sisters.  Love my Alpha Delta, sisters in Christ and Go BC Rams!! BC Ram Pride!! Yes, I love my alma mater🙂

More than anything though, I love that God has always provided a group/organization for me to connect and grow through.  The latest organization God has led me to is Proverbs 31 Ministries.  I love my authentic, loving Jesus sisters🙂.  If  you’re curious about what this Proverbs 31 thing is all about click here

So what does all of this mean:

  1. We were created with a need for connection (a sense of belonging)
  2. There is someone who loves accepts you just the way you are❤
  3. The way you connect and the people you connect with will be different than mine.  That is okay🙂 We were all created uniquely on purpose.

So, where do you find your sense of connection/belonging?

Dear God,

I thank you for always being there for me and helping me find my connection in You.

Thank you for providing me with opportunities to learn and grow throughout my life.

If there is anyone reading this post who needs a place to connect, I pray that You would lead them to a place where can truly connect/belong.

I pray that wherever you lead each person it would be an uplifting one, where he/she can become the person he/she was created to be.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

3 thoughts on “Connection…

  1. Missy says:

    Two sweet Sarahs right in a row! What a blessing…

    Sarah, I love your heart for our God! And thank you for reminding us that we are all here, together, for one purpose. To encourage. Much like you all did at that prayer gathering. How great is our God to provide this place for us?!❤

Leave a Reply

