The God Without Limits….His Messy Masterpiece

This week some awesome friends of mine and I embarked on Week 2 of the newest Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study Bible. It is Limitless Life by Derwin L. Gray. 

 Our verse for this Ephesians 2:10 which says, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Looking at this verse seems to prompt two questions:

  • Am I a God’s Masterpiece?
  • Do I truly believe that I am God’s Masterpiece?

My small group asked a similar question to the ones above recently and this is what I came up with…

At first glance, I am a bit of a mess.  I am a 32 year old female who was born with a disability. My disability causes me to have limitations.  As a matter of fact, when I was born the doctors told my parents were told my parents that I may never be able to do anything. On top of that, I am more than a bit klutzy.  On the outside, I may appear to be just a mix of limitations and many other traits.

Thankfully, that is not the way that God sees me.  How is that possible you may ask? Well let me tell ya…

  • God is the most masterful of all artists, he has a vision/plan for my life (Jeremiah 29:11).  He has a vision/plan for each of His masterpieces! Yes, my friend that includes you!!
  • God does not see you the way the world does, he does not judge you and I by our outward appearance, He looks at our hearts (1 Samuel 16:7).

That is one of the most amazing things about a true artist, where the untrained eye may see a mix of colors and lines. A supposed mess.   Especially if an artist mixes many layers or colors, it may not be easy to see the artist’s vision at first.  This is what makes an artist so amazing! He/she can see what his/her masterpiece will look like when it is completed.  God is no exception!

So what does all of this mean?

  • To the world, you and I may be a mess (at least on the surface).  There are going to actually be days where you and I are a mess. That’s okay!! We may be a mess today, but God will never leave us that way.
  • Does that mean that God cannot use these messes? No way.  God often uses our messes and the situations that were meant to bring each of us down for our good (Romans 8:28, Genesis 50:20).
  • God can take an ordinary sometimes lady like me and turn her into a masterpiece like no other.  The amazing thing is that He can and wants to do that for you too.  All you have to do is ask Him to come into your life and make you new.

I don’t know about you, but today I am glad to be messy masterpiece.  Why is that? The reason is if I am still a mess, then God is not finished yet.  I find hope in that because He has begun this work in me will be faithful to complete it (Philippians 1:6).

So that’s why I see myself as God’s Messy Masterpiece.  I hope I have encouraged you today, friend.

Love and Prayers,

Sarah

 

 

4 thoughts on “The God Without Limits….His Messy Masterpiece

  1. sabrinaebert says:

    It’s true the world and the people in it, focus on outward appearances but a God focuses on the heart. Day by day we are getting renewed. 2 Cor 4:16 reaffirms this…Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.
    Stay blessed, you are indeed His Masterpiece.

  2. Missy says:

    Oh, sweet Sarah, AMEN! We may look A Sight to those on the outside, but to The One who knit us together on the inside, we are perfect. Once again, a beautiful reminder that God makes beautiful masterpieces. You.

    Missy

  3. LisaMac says:

    Oh this is so beautiful Sarah. What a wonderful way to look at it. Be grateful for being a mess because that means God is not finished yet……I absolutely love that. This has made me smile, thank you.

Leave a Reply

