Reading the Labels Wrong…Part 1

This blog was inspired by a blog post written yesterday by Nicki Koziarz on the Proverbs 31 Online Studies blog… If you would like to read Nicki’s blog post click here.

Anyway on the P31 blog yesterday, Nicki told a story about what happened when she read a label incorrectly.  Well as I was working today, I found I had a label story of my own.. So here you go…

Some of you may know that I work in a library.  If you have ever been in a library, you have probably realized that each book has a label on the spine.  That label tells anyone working there, where that book belongs.  You see, each book has a specific place where it belongs in the library.

With each book in the library having a specific spine label, you’d think it would be fairly easy to be sure that each book ends up in the right place.  Well I am here to tell you that it isn’t always that easy.  Why you may ask? I have discovered a couple of reasons:

  1. Labels: Sometimes the labels are hard to read.  This happens most when the label is old and the letters and/or numbers have worn off.  It can depend on how the spine label is typed as well.  If the spine label is typed so that it wraps, you may not be able to see all of the label.
  2. Placement: If you place another book on the shelf based only on the part of the label you can see, it may be put in the wrong place.  That means when someone wants to check out that book, the people working in the library may not be able to find it.  The person who shelves books the next time may place books in the wrong as well.  How is that possible? If I look at book shelf, the books look like they are shelved correctly, so I just continue shelving as if it is correct.  Later, I go back, read the shelves, then I realize several books were shelved wrong at some point.  That may not seem like a BIG DEAL, but those several books being shelved wrong, could mean having to move and reorganize an entire shelf.

So what does all this have to do with life or even God?

  • Labels/Categories: How many times have you or I formed an opinion about a person based on the characteristics we can see? I don’t know about you, but all too often I put the people I know into categories/labels without even realizing it.  When you and I do that, we not only put limits on that person, but the relationship we could have with that person as well.

Recently, I had the privilege of spending the weekend with an awesome lady I have known most of my life.  It wasn’t until that weekend though, that I realized how much I didn’t know about her. I’m telling you all, I now have a new friendship/appreciation for this amazing lady!! So what if there is quite an age difference between us!! That does not make her any less fun or any less a bookwork than I am.  We laughed so much!!

I will never see her the same way again, that’s how God is too!! I know you may be thinking, ok Sarah, what does God have to with this? Well let me tell you, friend,  Just like I will see my friend the same way again now that I have spent time getting to know her on a deeper level, God does that too.  When you and I accept the free gift of salvation, that Jesus offers to everyone who will believe in Him, God no longer sees us as the broken people we are.  He sees you and I as He sees His Son, Jesus.  Pure…Faultless..All because Jesus took our place on the cross (Romans 5:8, John 1:12).

There is more to the story, so I hope to see you tomorrow… Get beyond those labels ya’ll🙂

Goodnight

 

 

3 thoughts on “Reading the Labels Wrong…Part 1

  1. Trish Cordell says:

    How easy it is for us all to slap a label on someone based on just the surface of what we see. Taking the time to truly know someone and getting under the surface is not always something we choose to do, but when it happens, we are truly blessed!! And God so wants us to look past the “cover” to find the treasures He’s placed in each of us. Thanks for sharing your story today!! Blessings to you!!

Leave a Reply

