Meeting Him At The Well

 

Have you ever felt beaten up by life?

Like no matter what you do, it all turns out wrong…

Here is the good news friend, if you have you are not alone.  The truth is I have felt this way more than once recently.  So I got to thinking…I know, look out, she’s thinking..lol

In all seriousness though, as I was trying to understand why I was feeling beaten up and like I couldn’t do anything right, God reminded me of something to me.  While I was doing some amazingly good things, I was not doing the MOST IMPORTANT thing, spending time with Him.

I was listening to the song for the video at the top of this post, and realized it described the way I was feeling….

I have what you need, but you keep on searching
I’ve done all the work, but you keep on working
When you’re running on empty
And you can’t find the remedy
Just come to the well
You can spend your whole life
Chasing what’s missing
But that empty inside, it just ain’t gonna listen
When nothing can satisfy
And the world leaves you high and dry
Just come to the well

Has anyone else ever been there? I bet there is.  If you are like me, you may not even realize it at first.  You may be just doing the tasks you need to get done each day. Not even realizing that you are basing your worth on the words of others, self criticism, or even worse the noise in your own head.  You know what I mean? In case it’s a little confusing, I will try to explain.

What I mean….

  • The Words Of Others: Too often, for me at least, someone will say something to or about me, and I almost instantly internalize it.  As I internalize it, I begin to analyze it, and it more often then not, becomes something it was never intended to be.  It’s like that game we used to play telephone.  What starts as a simple comment or message by the end takes on a life of its own.  Why do our brains do that to us? The answer is actually quite our brains are the most powerful “computer” ever designed.  Satan knows that and will try to use it against us.  That is one reason it is so important that we come to the well.  As we spend time at the God will teach each of us who we truly are, the person He sees when He looks at us.  Only then, will we begin to not value ourselves based on the words of others, but on the Truth of who we are in Him.
  • Self Criticism: I don’t know about you, but I tend to be more critical of myself, than I am of anyone else.
  • Noise in my own head: You know those voices in your head that are often negative.  The ones that say things like, ” you can’t do anything right.”  When I let the noise in my head stay there, then I begin to believe them, and I begin to see many circumstances in a negative light.  That is why we need to let God shine the light of truth on these thoughts, to see what is really true.

I don’t know about you, but I will be making going to the well a priority from now on, because I want to be the me God made me to be, not the beaten up by life version of me.  Jesus will be there waiting to show us the truth and fill us with the refreshment only He can give.

Leave a Reply

