Bearer of Light: Kingdom Ambassador

I started to write a post over a year ago when i first saw this picture floating around on Facebook.  For some reason though, I didn’t. However, tonight as I deciding what to write about, I was drawn back to this draft. One of the writing prompts for this week’s blog  hop are the two word’s Kingdom Ambassador.  As I was “marinating” on what it means to be a Kingdom Ambassador this picture came to mind.
So what does being a Kingdom Ambassador mean to me?
Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.” (John 8:12, NLT).
  • Reflect: Anyone who accepts the free gift that Jesus offers, lets Him into his/her heart, has the light of life inside, and can reflect His light.  How do you and I do that? It doesn’t have to be anything complicated.  We can reflect the light in the way we treat another person.  If you don’t think that’s important enough, let a child who knows what you believe catch you saying a “bad word” like shut up, and you will find out just how important it is.  Children watch us ya’ll, whether we always want them to or not, what we are modeling for them matters.
  • Shine: When I think of the word shine, I almost instantly think of a song I learned as a little girl.  “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.”  “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.” “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.” “Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.  You may be thinking Sarah, I don’t have the time or money to go shine my light in another country.  Friend, you don’t have to, there are plenty of people in need right here.  It may be something as simple as calling someone to brighten up his/her day.  You never know when one simple act may have a positive impact.

So my question is what is one way you and I can be a Kingdom Ambassador today?

 

Image from knowmyworth.com

12 thoughts on “Bearer of Light: Kingdom Ambassador

  1. cats1216 says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Sarah. I’ve been challenged this week to “shine” also—to share Christ’s love—to be intentional about it. I work on a college campus so one way I plan to shine is by possibly “adopting a student.” Ask them to lunch. Keep their favorite candy in my office. Have them over for dinner. Invite them to come to church with me. It’s exciting!

  2. sabrinaebert says:

    I grew up singing that song and I sooooo love the picture that motivated this post. Being a mum, has made me watch my anger levels and keep them in check so as not to say a word that my daughter will repeat. Love how God uses the parenting role to keep us in check.😉 I too, feel useless not doing enough when I see others on the mission field but if you can’t be there, then support them, financially, encouraging words and prayer! We are a body, we a all have a role to play…you might not feel you are doing much but you are impacting…thanks for the post and reminding me that.

  3. bloggerlovestheking says:

    Like Sabrina I grew up singing that song too and that one “You Are My Sunshine” (one of Mom’s favorites). Sarah, you are so right about simple things to let our light shine. Yesterday I came back from my prayer walk and saw that a dear friend had posted on facebook that her Mom was not doing well and in the hospital. I knew I didn’t have time to call, but I thought good grief go pick up the phone and call. At the end of the conversation (an hour later) she said you’ll never know how you blessed my heart today – I needed to get all this out. Simple things can make such a difference in someone’s life – a touch, a phone call and even a text. Yesterday, too as I thought about some trials both of my children are going through and their spouses, I picked up my phone and texted all 4 of them with words of love, encouragement and Romans 8:28. Thanks for the reminder today for all of us our lights can shine if we will just let them. Like you said it’s “the simple acts”. Thanks for blessing my heart today. Now I am going to go call someone else today to bless them. Debbie W. (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Sarah — a few days after my mother passed, I was parked in the school parking lot having just dropped my daughter off. I was just sitting there and a lady from my (new) church drove up my aisle and waved to me. She then proceeded to back up and park her car right there in the middle of the aisle and come over to my car and hug me. Fast forward a few weeks and we were in bible study class talking about how we can be a light to other people. I mentioned this story to the class (the lady was sitting in there). She had no idea how much her gesture meant to me. It really is the little things and I pray that I do something for someone else that, no matter how big or small, helps them get through a hard time. Thank you for writing this blog and reinforcing the importance of being a Kingdom Ambassador.

  5. nubcube says:

    That’s a great post, especially the picture-two ways to spread light, be the candle or the mirror that reflects it. It makes me wonder if I am the candle or the mirror. It reminds me of a song I heard when I was in college “Lord let me shine, shine like the moon, a reflection of You, in all that I do” I want to be a mirror that is not clouded by dirt or past hurt or shyness. I am allowing God to still and quiet me with His love so that I can be cleansed by the washing of the water of the word, a reflection of Him, with a light that shines so that others may see my good works and give glory to God. I’m going to give love today to the children and people I come across-oh for grace to do it today and peace to do it as He would have me-Amen🙂

  6. Melissa says:

    I love to make eye contact with everyone I meet and give them a big smile.🙂 I feel that God’s love is showing through me when I take the time to smile and acknowledge someone. We never know what someone is experiencing in their lives and a smile can make a big difference.

  7. Kim says:

    This was great! I loved the images. We’ve sung that song since we were kids, and yet the older I get, the more it means to me! Thank you for sharing!!

  8. gentah says:

    Thank you for sharing!There are times that I do not always let my light shine for different reasons but I know now that as an ambassador I should be the candle!

  9. tdm4him says:

    Sarah, Dear friend – You have a gift from Our Father to be the light! I so enjoy your posts. Your writing is inspirational – when you said being the light reminds you of when you were a child…Me too!! it is always the first thing I think of – I am so thankful for this study – Pastor Gray has given me an indepth perception – that I was needing during this time in my life! Thank you for writing, keep on keeping on.
    Blessings, Teresa

Leave a Reply

