Mercy…Redefining Limitations

This week as I sit down write for #LiveFreeThursday, I have to be confessional and say it has been a struggle…

The only part of this week’s post I was sure about from the beginning, is the song that is at the top of this post.

All I truly know is I am so grateful that God in His Mercy came running for me (song lyrics, Ephesians 2:2-5).

People may look at my life and wonder how has God shown you mercy, you have a disability, you struggle almost daily. Yes this is true.  However, the mercy and grace God has shown me, I never do it alone.  I have an awesome family, friends, communities that help make this thing called life more interesting, and doable. Not to mention, how blessed I am to live in a place where I am able to be an active member of these communities.  It was not really that long ago, when people with physical limitations would not have had that opportunity.  I would have possibly been separated from the people I love.    That makes me sad to even think about…

That’s where God in His Mercy Redefines Limitations…

  • I have a full time job (my co-workers and students are awesome!)
  • Amazing Family and Friends (I know I already said that before, but I love them <3)
  • Am Actively leading and serving in ministry (Love Proverbs 31 Ministries and my small group ladies).

Does this mean that everything in my life is always great? I would be lying if I let you believe that is true.  Some days are harder than others…But that’s life this side of eternity, right?  I have found my life verse to always be true.

My Life Verse

My Life Verse

I don’t know about you, but I am grateful that I don’t have rely on my own strength.  Most days my strength is not great.

Then I remember… Each day a new beginning

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23 ESV

Even on the hard days, God finds a way to remind me that I am not alone in this fight, and today is not the end.

So sweet friend, I pray that no matter what is going on in your life right now, you remember that you don’t have to do it alone.  You are loved!  Your limitations do not have to define you.  If you give them to God, He will help you see them differently.

One thought on “Mercy…Redefining Limitations

Leave a Reply

