Freedom from Fear

I’ve always been sort of timid and quiet. It was not because I was not smart or I was a loner.  Just the opposite,  I love learning and  being included.   I have always loved people and have gotten a certain amount of energy from being around others.   Yet I held back…All the while, God was asking me to reach out to the people around me.

Still I hesitated.  Why would I hesitate you ask?  The simple answer is fear. Fear of the unknown to be specific.  You know the what ifs:

  • What if  I’m rejected?
  • What if I do not know what to say?
  • What if people don’t listen to me?
  • What if I fail?
  • What if I can’t do it?

If we are not careful, the what ifs will keep us moving forward, even when we know God is calling us to get moving. God never meant for you or I to live in fear.  How do we do that, not live in fear?

I don’t know that I have truly discovered the answer to that question yet.  However, I have noticed something though, the what ifs seem to overwhelm me when I am focused on me not God.  When I was asking the what ifs earlier, I was focused on my limited abilities and what could happen…

But what if I give God my whole heart and trust Him completely? Then maybe just maybe my perspective and approach will change.  What does that look like you may ask? For me, hit looks a little something like this….

God loves and accepts me. He loves me even when others reject me.     As I allow that truth to truly sink in, then take root in my mind and heart, people lose the power they once had over me. (Eller, 48-49, Jn. 3:16, Psalm 139:14-15, Romans 8:31).

God will give me the words to say. Whether the words are written or spoken, God will help me know what to say or write (Exodus 4:11-12).   I have to be listeniing though… I often get so caught up in the busyness of life that, I do not take time to hear from God (Psalm 46:10).   How can I speak the words that God will give me if I am not hearing Him speak? I can’t.

God will go before me (Deuteronomy 31:8).What does that mean? It means that  I don’t need to worry about the results, God will take care of those.  I don’t know about you, but that frees me so much.  All you and I really need to do is be obedient!! If a situation doesn’t go the way I hoped it would, it’s all good because God has it all under control.  Like the song says, “He’s got the whole world in His Hands”.

I am so glad I don’t have to do what God asks me to do on on my own because I could not do it.  Even though there are people who think I am amazing, the truth is God is amazing! The truth is my strengh is minimal on a good day.

But God….

Only Through Christ

Only Through Christ

So sweet friend whatever you are dealing with today, I encourage you to give it to God.  Because guess what? He loves and accepts you too.  Just give it to Him then, watch and see He will work in you too.

Because….

“being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus”. (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭6‬ NIV)

I am still somewhat timid but God is helping me to be brave and He will help you too.

I am participating in Live Free Thursday

I am participating in Live Free Thursday

image

I am participating in Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Freedom from Fear

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Diana, I too have had many what ifs as well…That is something God and I are still working through. I am so glad you stopped by my little corner of the world. I hope you will come back again soon🙂

  1. IntentionallyPursuing.com says:

    Sarah, you are so right. When our focus is on God, our perspective changes. Instead of see our limits, we see His limitlessness. I find when I focus on the fact God is by my side, I can even do things afraid. Thank you, Sarah, for sharing your heart at #IntentionalTuesday on Intentionally Pursuing. : )

Leave a Reply

