Living Expectantly

Right now I am living in an almost constant state of high expectation/anticipation.  In less than a month, I will be going to and participating in a conference I have been waiting a year to attend again.

image

I know you may be thinking, again….Yes, I was blessed to attend She Speaks last year.  So why go again?  The answer is simple, it’s a new adventure… Another chance to.. Learn, grow, and get to make new friends.

It’s easy for me to live expectantly when I have a conference that I want to attend coming up or a break is right around the corner….

What about when life is what my friend Emily calls “regular?” Do you know what I mean?  It may begin to feel like you are doing the same thing over and over again.  You go to work, come home, eat sleep, and then the cycle begins all over again…

How do I live life expectantly when life seems so routine? I don’t have all the answers or even a lot of them.  I am a fellow journeyman here, God is still working on and teaching me.  There are a few of the things God has been teaching me though… I can,

  •  Recognize that each day is another chance (Lamentations 3:23).  Another chance to see the God moments that happen in every day life.  The other day I saw a rainbow in the sky while there were still storm clouds in the sky.  When I look for the God moments in each day, I often am reminded why that day is important, and not just another day just like the previous one.

Even if yesterday didn’t go the way I had hoped it would….Today is a new day…Another chance

  • Refresh yourself mind, body, and spirit.  One of the ways I am refreshed is through the my amazing friends and family.  Often a friend or family member will say or do something that will be just what I need to hear at that moment.   The beautiful young women in the picture below is my friend Kristy.  She and my sisters in Christ have spoken truths into my life, that have helped me  truly embrace this adventure/plan that God has for me.

    A change in perspective is sometimes just what I need to get out the ho hums…

Kristy and I

Kristy and I

  • Reach out to someone you wouldn’t normally.  Often when I reach out to someone I haven’t in awhile, I find out something new, and that leads to a new adventure. I don’t know about you, but my life could use a little adventure once in awhile because I don’t want to be just going through the motions.  You never know you may say or do something that will be just what that person needed.

Whether you are living expectantly, feeling ho hum, or somewhere in between I hope you are encouraged by my imperfect progress.

I am linking up at Suzie Eller's

I am linking up at Suzie Eller’s today

6 thoughts on “Living Expectantly

  1. Carmen Horne says:

    Sarah, I’m going to She Speaks as well! And, I am so very excited! You have given us some good reminders of how to enjoy the everyday. Hopefully we will meet while we are at the conference. Blessings friend. ~~visiting from Intentional Tuesday

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Hey Carmen, I hope we get to meet at She Speaks too! Are you a member of Compel or coming to the RaRaLinkup breakfast? I will be at both of those events and will hopefully see you there. Thank you for stopping by and encouraging me ❤️ see you at She Speaks.

  2. Brittany Bergman says:

    I would love to go to She Speaks someday! I hope you have another amazing experience there. Thanks for sharing such beautiful thoughts on living expectantly. So often I live and think and pray like God is stingy with answers and gifts, but this is so far from true. With love, your #RaRaLinkup neighbor.🙂

  3. Angela Parlin says:

    Very exciting! I’ll be at She Speaks too and I’m looking forward to seeing what God has for me there! Hope we meet, I’ll be at the RaRa breakfast and Compel. Blessings to you…thanks for sharing this with #RaRaLinkup today!

  4. IntentionallyPursuing.com says:

    Sarah, it can be a challenge to live expectantly during the “regular days.” But I find God’s suddenly usually comes after a long string of regular days, which helps me keep my eyes open for Him. Though I am extra expectant for what He will do at She Speaks too. See you there! Thank you, Sarah, for sharing your heart at #IntentionalTuesday on Intentionally Pursuing. : )

Leave a Reply

