My Life Anchor

Where is your life anchored?

Where is your life anchored?

This week I am blessed to be a part of the conversation on Suzie Eller’s blog.  Today’s topic is anchored.  I have been thinking about where my life is anchored and I came up with an acrostic.

All things (Philippians 4:13): This is my life verse.  I was blessed to have the same one on one aide from the time I entered third grade until I graduated from high school. She used to remind of this verse all of the time.  I am a wee bit perfectionist and I get frustrated with myself easily.  It was in those moments she would say, “Sarah, you can’t do  everything perfectly, but if you let Him, God will help you do things you never thought possible”.  She is now in Heaven, but the things she taught me live on in my heart and mind.

Nothing is impossible (Luke 1:37): This verse is on my bedroom wall.  It reminds me of my life story.  When i was born with a birth defect, doctors told my parents, “We are not sure about her capabilities.  She may never be able to walk or talk” I did not walk with a walker until I was about 6 years old, but with God’s help, I did.  He can make what seems impossible to you and I possible.

Cast all your cares on Him (Psalm 55:22): What does it means to cast all your cares on Him? It means I don’t have to worry or fret over the things I can’t control. All I need to do is to give them to God. How do I do that? By talking to God.  It seems so simple doesn’t it? Then why don’t we do it? I have had a hard time because I do not want to be a burden to anyone…not even God.

The He reminds me, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30, NIV)

 I am so glad I can come to God and talk to Him without having to worry about being a burden (Hebrews 4:16 NIV).

Help (Psalm 46:1): We all need help from time to time.  As someone who needs help a lot, I know sometimes it is hard to ask for help.  Especially if you like me are a strong willed, independent person.  I have learned that having help when needed is a blessing not a sign of weakness.   God is always available to help, which is awesome because you never know when you might need Him.  He wants to help all we have to do is ask for it

Overcome: Sometimes life is just plain hard… I find this verse extremely comforting at those times…

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33 NIV)

 It reminds me that life can knock me down, but it can’t knock me out.🙂 How is that possible? His name is Jesus.  He has already won!!

Redeemed (Ephesians 1:7 NIV): Does the fact that I am redeemed mean I am perfect? No. Actually it means just the opposite… It means I am imperfect and need God.  As a recovering perfectionist, I find it very freeing to know that I do not have to perfect to be loved and forgiven by God.

I have found that almost everyone has something or someone in which she anchors her life…Now that you have had a glimpse into my life anchor, I hope you are encouraged to find your own life anchor.

Thank you so much for stopping by, I would love to hear from you in the comments section.

Blessings,

Sarah

3 thoughts on “My Life Anchor

Leave a Reply

