Choosing to live in the now

When I was younger someone asked me, “Do you ever miss or wish you could run, or any of the other things I can’t do? I didn’t hesitate. I said, “No, I don’t. She said, why not? My response was, “How do you miss something you have never experienced or done? That may seem like a strange response for a young preteen disabled girl to give someone, but it is the truth. One of the realities of being born with Cerebral Palsy is I have never known another life.

Hold on to your hat, if you thought my previous response was strange. Looking back, I believe that from a young age God was preparing me for the life He had set before me. You see, I truly believe that God has a plan for each of us (Jeremiah 29:11). He knew that this journey was not going to be easy. However, it would be extremely easy for me to be angry or bitter about all the “normal” activities I have “missed out” on because of the path God chose for me.

If I’m honest, there are times when I get frustrated by some of the complications of being born with Cerebral Palsy. For example, I would love to be able to get in a car and drive myself somewhere. Then God reminds me of the amazing adventures I have had with amazing people all because I needed to go somewhere or something, I would not trade them for anything.

Another reason I am sure God had this unique journey for me is He has always provided for me. Not only do I have an awesome God given family! I have an amazing community/church family that supports my family and me as we walk this road called life together.

I can’t thank God enough for all that He done for me. No, this is not the path I would have chosen for myself at all… I thank God though, that while this road can be frustrating at times, He helps me not stay there. It reminds me of what one of aides used to tell me when I would get frustrated.   She would say, “This too shall pass”. There is so much truth in that simple statement. No matter what you are going through right now, it won’t last forever.

I absolutely love this verse….

It reminds me again, that while I may not be able to everything other people can, I can make a choice.  I can choose to:

  • focus on my own lack of ability while staying frustrated and stuck
  • Allow God to use the abilities He has specifically given me while He fills in the gaps (2 Cor. 12:9).

Tonight I choose to allow God to use all that He has given me. By choosing to live in the now, I am embracing this life with all it bumps and bruises knowing that God has been/will be there with me every step of the way (Deuteronomy 31:6). 

Friend, I pray for you as you read this post.  I pray that God will be close to you. That He and reminds you that no matter what you are going through you never face it alone.  You will hold on to the truth that this too will pass.    That as each of us as we face times of uncertainty that you have a plan Father and will provide for our every need. In Jesus name, Amen.

20 thoughts on “Choosing to live in the now

  1. Lux G says:

    Sarah, I’m so glad I saw your blog in the Soul Survival link up. You and your story is outstandingly inspiring.

    I hope I can be as optimistic as you are when things aren’t going well for me. And I hope more people can get to know your story. So many people are whining often and so easily.

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m praying for more opportunities to share my story. I have my whiny days too, believe me. I have learned that each of us has our own journey and God will transform each of us as we allow Him too.

  2. guitartist858 says:

    Good Morning, What a coincidence, my thought as of late have been on living in the moment, of realigning ourselves to the will of God. Ecclesiates 11:9 tells us to Rejoice while we are still young- while we still have this moment. Thank you and God Bless

  3. Tara says:

    Beautiful post and great perspective! You so easily could be upset and angry at God, but instead you are thankful for the ways God has provided for you and walked with you. Thank you for being YOU and sharing your story. Blessed to be your neighbor at the RaRa Linkup today.

  4. Angela Parlin says:

    Sarah, Your story is such an inspiration to me. You are focused on the ways God has provided for me, and I want to grow up to have faith like that. Thank you for bringing me to tears, not only of repentance but also hope. So glad you shared with us at #RaRaLinkup this week!

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Thank you Angela for your sweet words. I have learned that having faith is a process. Sometimes it’s a daily process of giving my perspective over to God for Him to reshape. I’m so glad God was able to use me.

  5. rjbritton says:

    Sarah, I am so humbled by your beautiful attitude, your amazing courage, and the smile on your face. Thank you for sharing. Your words are powerful. PS I sat next to you at the COMPEL luncheon this year. I arrived late so we didn’t get a chance to chat much but it’s great getting to know you more through this blog.

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet words. I’m so glad we will get to know
      each other through our blogs, even though we did not get to do it at She Speaks this year. Maybe next year?

Leave a Reply

