Confessions of a recovering perfectionist 

 Hello my name is Sarah and I’m a recovering perfectionist. I’m not kidding y’all,  I used to think I had to perfect.

I know you may be thinking, but Sarah you were born. with a physical disability you came here imperfect. Oh this I know friend, but that didn’t stop me from trying, if anything it made me try harder. Why would I do that? The reason is simple…Pride.  I felt like I had to prove myself to others so that people would see me as more than my disability.

Ok maybe just maybe I wanted to prove it to myself. I mean who really wants to believe that she fits in this hole that she’s been placed in either by herself or by circumstances?

So I tried to prove myself, yet no matter how hard I worked it never seemed to be enough…

Then I heard God say, “Daughter, who are you trying to be? The you believe the world wants you to see, or the you I created you to be in Me?

I know the best and the answer I really want to be able to give is, I want to be the me God has created, and not worry about other think.. Still sometimes I struggle though.

This reminds me of a verse…. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do (Romans 7:15, NIV). I often feel like that, even though I know that Jesus died so that I would not have to have to be perfect to be loved by God, I still struggle with worrying about the way others see me.  It just confirms that I still need God to help me see myself the way He does…

The good news is, He who has began a good work in Sarah will be faithful to complete it (Philippians 1:6).  The even better news is He will do it for you too, all we have to do is ask (Matthew 7:7).   While I am not a completely recovered perfectionist, I am grateful that God is working in and on me.  With His help I am making imperfect progress in the process.

Tonight’s challenge: Maybe you don’t struggle with being a perfectionist,  whatever your struggle is won’t you give it to God tonight.

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a recovering perfectionist 

Leave a Reply

