31 Days Of Writing: Finding Rest On Slow Down Saturday 

As I get older I am finding that rest is a precious gift.  Why?  Hard as it is for me admit, my energy level is lessening as I grow older.  What does that mean? It means that I often go to bed when I’m tired, even if it is early in the evening.  To the point that I joke that I have the same bedtime as my elementary school students.

Today I did something I rarely do, I slept in on a Saturday.  Not that I don’t like to sleep in, I do.  Typically though,I feel guilty when I sleep in, especially when I know I have things to accomplish that day. I doubt that I am the only one who feels guilty when taking time to truly rest. While I haven’t truly embraced the gift of rest, God is working on me.  I am learning to be obedient to God, even when He calls me to rest.

Tonight’s Challenge: Take time to rest at some point. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

