Encourage…

12143139_10153189512063067_8791205250437049862_n

Have you ever had a word or phrase get stuck in your head? That’s what has been happening to me this week.  What is that word or phrase?  The word is encourage.  It may be stuck in my head because I am currently leading a small group study called, “It’s good to be queen” by Liz Curtis Higgs. This week’s chapter is called, “It’s Good To Encourage Others.  This amazing study and my fabulous small group is part of the reason I have this particular word stuck in my noggin, but it goes deeper than that.

I have had people tell me that I encourage/motivate them.  While it is my hope and prayer that God can/will use me to encourage others, it still seems a little strange for me.  You see when a person comments that I have helped encourage her, I’m usually not doing anything spectacular.  One instance I remember in particular, I was simply walking across campus in college.  Something ordinary, something I did every day at the time.  Yet on that day, a friend went to class, and put forth a little more effort. (I know this because he stopped me and told me that later that day).  I am so humbled!

Why do I tell you that story? To encourage you of course! Haha.  In all seriousness though, God has taught me that it is often the ordinary, small thing, He will use to encourage someone else.

Kristy and I

Kristy and I

This is my amazing sister-friend Kristy.  I just love her!! I met her through Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies.  She was my Facebook Small Group leader and an amazing encourager!! She used to send each of us handwritten cards in the mail.  In fact, her handwritten notes inspired me to write cards to my own amazing small group friends.  I am so grateful for Kristy and her sweet encouraging spirit, I am not sure if I would be leading a small group of my own now without it.  Love you Kristy❤

Tonight’s Challenge: Encourage someone… Whether it’s a phone call, a card in the mail, or a hug never underestimate the power of an encouraging word.

Leave a Reply

