Pain and the Process 

IMG_1491

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post called “Blue Feet and Faithfulness”, if you would like to read it click here.  The above picture is of the result of the process that caused the blue marks on my feet.  While I am super excited about my new braces, there was part of the process I had forgotten until today….

Whenever I get a new pair of braces there is often pain/discomfort.  Why is that?  My old braces are just that old. After being used multiples times over several years the old braces are well worn, and comfortable. The new splints on the other hand, hold my feet they are supposed be, which is often painful.

You may be wondering what does this have to do with imperfect progress? It reminds me that when we are trying something new or moving forward with a project, there will often be pain/discomfort.

I don’t know about you, but when I encounter discomfort/pain I often begin to question myself, the process, all of it.  As much as I hate to admit it, sometimes I even question God.  Not God so much as what I am supposed to do with my life. God has been teaching me that sometimes the pain is a needed part of the process.   How can pain be useful or needed?

I am reminded again of my need for God.  I need God to be able to understand and manage the pain.   Pain and discomfort remind me that I can turn to God regardless of the situation.  Love that reassurance! So thankful that God is always there no matter what!!  He will never waste the pain, either  God may use the pain to shape my life, so that I can reach out to others who is going through a similar situation, and help her not feel alone.

I am only human and need grace as much if not more than other people.  I tend to give grace freely to others but tend to be extremely  critical of myself.  Can I get an amen? I doubt I am the only one who is more critical of herself than others.

I hope that you are encouraged tonight friend. Encouraged that it is okay to be only human and need God.

2 thoughts on “Pain and the Process 

  1. Christa says:

    Sarah, I am so thankful for the honest way you share your journey with us. No sugar coating, no excuses. Your imperfect progress is a beautiful thing to watch!

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Thank you Christa. That is something God has been teaching me how to be open and honest without beating myself up. I am learning that is okay to admit I struggle because we all do at some point. My hope is if I share my struggle openly and simply then maybe someone will realize they are not alone.

Leave a Reply

