Bracing Ourselves and Others

Today I am thankful for my braces. Yes the same braces that in a previous post I admitted sometimes cause me pain. So how can I be thankful for something that sometimes causes me pain? The answer is the pain is temporary. Once my feet adjust to being held in place by my splints, then the splints can do what they were designed to accomplish. What are my splints meant to accomplish? Each splint helps hold my foot the in place, so that I can stand, move, and walk. My Cerebral Palsy makes it hard to for my feet to do that on their own.

I have realized lately that sometimes I am a lot like my feet.   Like my feet I often need help from others to be able to do what I was designed to accomplish.  And Guess What???? That’s okay.  Actually we were designed to need each other.

“Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ” (Galatians 6:2, NLT).

More than that, we were built with a need for God.  If you do not feel like you have anyone to turn to, you do.  No matter what has happened, God still loves you and is right there when you need Him (Luke 15:11-32, Romans 5:8).

So if you are like me and sometimes need some help to move forward, I encourage you to reach out. Maybe you have seen someone struggling, reach out to her, you may be just what she needs right now.

I am so thankful that we don’t do this alone. Like my braces help me, we can be there to help each other, and all we have to do is reach out.

Leave a Reply

