Stories In The Scars

11351192_10152900715633067_9060150588918347587_nToday I am linking up with the amazing Suzie Eller.  The topic of conversation this week is I’m marked.  As soon as I read this prompt, I thought of my scars.  Most of them are from the eleven or so surgeries I have had throughout my life.  I don’t tell you that so you will feel sorry for me, actually for me, the opposite is true.  I am learning that each one has it’s own story, and if I let Him God will use these stories to not only teach me but others as well.

I wanted to share a poem I wrote the other day as I was thinking about my relationship with God, my scars, and the story that is mine.

“Scars”

I used to try to hide my scars away,

If you saw them what would you say,

Even more frightening you may not stay,

You may even choose to walk away.

Then I heard God say,

Daughter, “Why do you hide yourself away?”

Don’t you see?

Each one tells a part of the story,

In which I am working each one together for your good.

I am not saying there has not been or will not be pain,

There will be, but I promise you daughter it will not be in vain.

If you will let Me I will use each of these,

To helps others see,

The amazing story I am writing of you and me.

Friend, you may not have physical scars like mine, but we all have scars of some kind.  Each of us has a unique story to tell that can help other people.  Will you share your story with someone today? Even if you are not sure what to say, ask God, He will show you the way

3 thoughts on “Stories In The Scars

Leave a Reply

