Lessons From Messes

Today at work several of my students made a mess.  I know what you are thinking, “So what Sarah kids make mess.  Yes it is true. Kids tend to make messes on a regular basis.  This is especially true of the younger ones.  Since I work at an elementary school I am used to cleaning up after them.

God clearly spoke to me earlier today, I was cleaning up that mess .  I was a little frustrated because the mess was made by older students.  They should know better than to leave the bookshelves a mess. Yet in their rush to find books, they left a mess behind.

So what does this have to do with God….

  • Rush: In the rush of life, I often miss  God given opportunities to love on, encourage the people around me.  It only takes a second to smile at someone instead of rushing past without acknowledging her presence. I don’t want to be one of those people who rushes through life so much, that I miss the beauty all around me.
  • Knowing Better: How often do you and I not do something we know we should? I do.  Probably more than I’d like to admit.  I know God is asking me to do something, but instead I put it off until tomorrow.Worse yet, I may never follow through which is willful disobedience, I guess.  Ugh.

The good news God forgives your disobedience and mine.  Each day we can choose to follow and see Him at work around us.   So if you’re like me and your day has been messy,  I hope you are encouraged by my messes.

 

4 thoughts on “Lessons From Messes

  1. Shirley Ross Craig says:

    So, so true, Sarah. The Lord has been speaking to me about slowing down to live in each moment. And don’t we learn so much from our students? I am retired now, and miss school, but The Lord has opened a door for a project with students this year. Yep, more lessons for me to learn.

Leave a Reply

