Leaving the Shallow End…

270421_10150230004563067_2836924_n

This week sweet Suzie Eller has asked a question, “what does it mean to walk in the deep? Walking in the deep brings one image to mind … a pool. I see the deep end of the pool. Not that I would know much about the deep end of a pool. You see, I only go as far in the pool as I can touch. Why is that? As long as I can touch the bottom I feel safe.  Why would I want to go to the deep end if it isn’t safe anyway?….

One day while I was swimming in the pool I discovered some new…

If I went a little farther out in the water, and l left the safety of the shallow end….

Guess what happened??? I walked in the water!!! That may seem insignificant to you, but it wasn’t for me.  You see I had never walked unassisted anywhere!! NEVER!! As I look back on it now, my only real regret is I didn’t try it sooner.  You are probably thinking, but Sarah wasn’t that scary? If I am honest, yes part of me was scared because until this day, I had always worn  some sort of flotation device.

My Grandpa and Me

Grandpa and me

Then I remembered an important fact: my Grandpa was in the pool with me.  My grandpa was the best grandpa ever (in my completely unbiased opinion)!!!🙂 Ok, so maybe I am a little bit biased🙂 One fact I am completely sure of…My grandpa loves me.  He loves me so much that he would not have let anything happen to me.  It was his presence, encouragement, and love that helped me take that first step in the water that day.

I know that not everyone has/had a Grandpa like mine, can I encourage you friend? There is someone loves you more than you know (John 3:16,  Romans 5:8).  His name is Jesus.

You may be like me, and already know Jesus.  That’s awesome!!Like me, He may be asking you to go out in the deeper water and it’s uncertain/scary. When I feel that way, I often find encouragement/comfort when I look at the life of Peter.  Peter wanted to do big things for God as do I. One of Peter’s bold moves is, he asked Jesus to allow him to walk on water (Matthew 14:28-29, NIV).   Then Jesus says, “Come”. So Peter gets out of the boat and he is walking on the water (Matthew 14:29).

Until…(insert ominous music here).  He takes his eyes off of Jesus (Matthew 14:30, NIV).  How many times have you or I done something similar? God has called us to do something, we are doing it (walking in our own deep end), then doubt/uncertainty enter the situation. The good news is like  my grandpa would have rescued me and Jesus rescued Peter… He will rescue us too (Matthew 14:31).  All you and I have to is trust Him enough to take that first step, He will take care of the rest (1 Thessalonians 5:24, ESV).

I don’t know about you, but I find a lot of comfort in this verse…

 “He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it”  (1 Thessalonians 5:24, ESV).

Why?  If it had been left up to me I would probably still be in the shallow end.  I am so grateful to God for enabling me to walk out of the shallow end, one step at a time.  So let’s do this friend, let’s walk together out of the shallow end!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Leaving the Shallow End…

    • sarahalsop81 says:

      Rosa,
      Thank you so much for your encouraging words! Sometimes it’s scary to share especially when you’re an introvert like me. I am so thankful that gives me the strength and courage to be obedient to His call.

Leave a Reply

