Reluctant Adventurer

IMG_1519

People say I am inspiring/an inspiration. I have to be honest and., say that is strange for me to think of myself as an inspiration. When I look at my life it seems so ordinary…Sure my life has had some obstacles that make life interesting and complicated on a fairly regular basis. Being someone who others see as an inspiration, is something God has had to teach me to embrace.

Now before you start thinking people are creepy and watch me everywhere I go, it is not like that at all. People are most often curious and compassionate. I have found that a lot of people just want to be helpful and possibly gain understanding from someone who has a different experience of life.

This is an example of how God will take someone He wired in the opposite way and use her to inspire others. How else would you explain…that He would create a highly introverted woman, who physically stands out. Honestly, if it were left up to me, I would stay inside my bubble.

 

Inside my bubble…

I am safe and protected

I never face ridicule or rejection.

Yet there is a problem,

If I don’t go outside my bubble…

I will never grow,

Go places I never thought I’d go.

So now I’m trusting,

Busting out of this bubble called “safe” and  “familiar”.

Only because of and for you,

I am reminded again that you are bigger,

Than any fears this adventure may trigger.

So God use me,

In whatever way that it maybe.

If that means standing out for you,

Then help me to,

Be a reflection of you.

I am learning this is where the adventure begins friends…When we stand in this place, somewhere between comfort and His grace. That’s the place, where we can all be an inspiration, by His grace. We each have a story that someone needs to hear.  The tricky part is finding the strength to open up and share.  It doesn’t matter if it is in words or deeds.  Obedience and willingness is all He really needs.    Whether you need to burst out of your bubble to walk into a new adventure, have the courage to share your story, I hope you were encouraged by this journey of mine.

8 thoughts on “Reluctant Adventurer

  1. Horace@pleasingtothePotter.com says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Sarah. Yes God wants to use us for His glory. Your testimony is perfect example of that. I love the poem. Be encouraged as you seek to be a “beacon” for Him. I know leaving our “comfort zone” can be scary so we just take Him by the hand and trust Him. So glad to visit your site today. May God bless you and yours… Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Carly says:

    It can be so hard to step out of our comfort zones. I love your willingness to do that for God and let Him use you. Visiting from #LiveFreeThursday.

  3. pamecrement says:

    Sarah, this is a great testimony and nudge for all of us. Stepping out is never easy and full of risk, but most things that are worthwhile in life are that way. Your obedience in this blesses and inspires me. Blessings on your life and day! Happy to be your neighbor at the Linkup at #LiveFreeThursday!

  4. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    It is so nice to meet another introvert who is trying to break out of the bubble. I started blogging so I could “meet” others and share what was on my heart and things I have learned being a homemaker. Yes, I’m still hiding behind the computer, but once I meet local people who find me, it is a little easier to be open. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays, I hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

