Who is He…Is God Enough?

This week in the Confident Heart study we were asked if God is enough? As I was thinking about this question, I thought about Peter and Jesus again. In Matthew 16:13-16, Jesus and the disciples are discussing who people say the Messiah is.  After, they answer his question about who others say that He is. He asks them, “But what about you? Who do you say I am? (Matthew 16:15 NIV)  Peter pipes up and says, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God” (Matthew 16:16).

God bless Peter, I just love him, don’t you? He knows the answer, so do I.  Yes, God is enough. Now does that mean I always live like He is enough? Of course not, I am only human (Romans 3:23 NIV).  Thankfully, God knew I would have periods of fear, doubt, worry, etc.  That is why He gave us of the Bible filled with promises/truths to use to help us overcome these periods of doubt, fear, worry, etc. What do I mean by this? Well I will show you…

  • I was born with a disability, the world often tries to tell me I am broken or useless.

Þ   God says: I am fearfully and wonderfully made to give me a future and a hope (Psalm139: 14, Jeremiah 29:11).

  • I am a person who worries a lot about things I have no control over.

Þ   God tells me I don’t have to worry, I can pray and cast all my cares on Him because He loves me (Philippians 4:6, 1 Peter 5:7).

Do you see the difference? The first statement is about the opinions of others and my own tendencies.  Statement two is who I am in Christ, and the things that were made possible because of who God is.  God in His infinite love for us, allowed Jesus to come to earth to die, so that if we believe in Him, we can be who God created us to be.  How does this happen? This happens after we accept Christ as our Savior.  After we accept Christ as our Savior, Christ lives in our hearts and helps us to begin seeing ourselves as God does, as His beautiful creations.

Dear God, I pray that today, each of us would be reminded of who we are in you. I thank you that others don’t get the final say about who we are, you do.  I pray for each person who reads this post, would believe and live in the truth that you are enough, because God you are!  Lord, I thank you for this new day and this opportunity to share.  In Jesus Name I pray, Amen.

4 thoughts on “Who is He…Is God Enough?

  1. Susan Tresner says:

    Thanks for sharing and for the reminder of how to turn what the world or I think about me into a God thought! His Word is so helpful when we do that!!

Leave a comment